Parts for lowering a Goldwing

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200

Parts for lowering a Goldwing

Postby zimco » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:49 am

Let me first state that I am retired and do not work for any company listed here.
These are just suppliers that I found in my long searches that may be able to help others. Not many suppliers have parts listed for the Goldwing, so these were not easy to find.

A little bit of history - I have been riding since 1963, but until recently never owned Goldwings because I am 5"2" tall and my feet miss the ground on these wide, tall bikes.

I purchased 4 bikes that were in storage and decided to see if I could lower them down to be at least able to touch my toes. In deciding to do this I never understood how hard that could be.

I am still working on a hard tail frame that I am building to run around town, but that will be only to run around town. I am almost 67 years old and not as tough as I used to be.

I did locate some parts that will fit the Goldwings that I want to pass along to anyone who may be interested in lowering their wing.

Shocks are the first item - I found that "Dime City Cycles" carry Chrome shorty shocks that will fit the wings, You would use either -

Chrome "Shorty" Eye to Clevis Shock Absorbers - (289MM/11")

Chrome "Shorty" Eye to Eye Shock Absorbers - (279MM/11")

Depending on what year wing you have.

These lower the bike 2 inches and are priced under $80.00 a pair, they fit the Goldwing from 1975 to 1982. On some you may have to use your original rubber inserts in the eyes to make them fit.

Also while I am on this site, I also purchased extended handlebars from "Dime City Cycles" and am very happy with the price, delivery, and Quality.

I purchased the 16" Chrome Apes "Chimps" - (7/8") and they are going to be great on this bike. Priced under $50.00.