Relatively new user

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
seldonca
Motorcycle: 1982 Aspencade
1984 Magna V30

Relatively new user

Postby seldonca » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:21 pm

Just realized I never introduced myself before asking questions. I'm new to GoldWing ownership, just bought my first one a couple of weeks ago. Its a 1982 Aspencade with 117,000 Kms on it, 73,000 miles for our American friends. After much reading on this site I've decided to replace the timing belts on it before I even attempt to ride it. One plus is that when I went to look at it prior to buying it, it started in -20 degree weather and ran fine. One question I do have is this, I've never ridden a bike this big, my current ride is a 1984 Magna V30 (500 cc), is there anything I should watch out for when making the switch over to a much bigger bike?

RoadRogue
Motorcycle: 1997 1500SE

Re: Relatively new user

Postby RoadRogue » Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:18 pm

Welcome to the forum , glad to have yet another Canuck with us. The only advice I can give you on the difference between bikes is to spend a couple of hours in the parking lot getting the feel of the larger and therefore heavier bike . The fairing does block your view of the front wheel and it will take some time to get used to knowing where it is.

While you are playing in the parking lot expect to drop the bike at least once. you can save the chrome on the crash bars by slipping a piece of split garden hose over them till you feel comfortable with the way the bike handles. The 1100 is a great bike, I wouldnt hesitate to jump on mine and ride across the country tomorrow knowing all I would have to do to it was the usual consumables tires,oil brakepads and of course fuel. 8-)
Ride safe, Todd
Over night campers welcome

seldonca
1984 Magna V30

Postby seldonca » Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:40 pm