Hell To Toe Shifter

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
marksviper
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Interstate

Hell To Toe Shifter

Postby marksviper » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:55 pm

Hello Everyone I'm New To Goldwing Doc's... I'm Looking For Information On A 1985 Interstate Concerning The Heel To Toe Shifter... I'm Having Trouble While Gearing Down, Going Up Is Fine, But Down Is Less Than Nice... Any Help Would Be Nice...

wjnfirearms
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000
1980 KZ750 LTD
2007 H-D XL1200C

Re: Hell To Toe Shifter

Postby wjnfirearms » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:48 am

Could you be more specific as to what the problem is while downshifting.
Member, Patriot Guard Riders, Blue Knights LEMC, PA VII

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:17 pm

Another fellow had problems.I think he found the rubber on the original shifting lever was the problem.I believe he used a piece of hose to fill the gap in some magical way.Probably just slipped it over the lever end and reassembled the shifter.

marksviper

Postby marksviper » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:45 pm

virgilmobile wrote:Another fellow had problems.I think he found the rubber on the original shifting lever was the problem.I believe he used a piece of hose to fill the gap in some magical way.Probably just slipped it over the lever end and reassembled the shifter.

I will try that, there is a small amount of slack between the forks of the shifter and the orginal shifter.... Thank's for you imput....

marksviper

Postby marksviper » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:47 pm

wjnfirearms wrote:Could you be more specific as to what the problem is while downshifting.

While down shifting the hell to toe doesn't fully engage the gear's all the time, what you hear is; as if the gear isn't fully seated yet...

marksviper

Postby marksviper » Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:59 pm