Loving this 1100a more and more.

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
jerigillam
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade, 1971 CB100.

Loving this 1100a more and more.

Postby jerigillam » Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:29 pm

I rode 280 miles today, kind of a round about route through Ohio and down into Kentucky (Maysville/Old Washington), then back into Ohio, across 52 to Portsmouth, and up 23 to Columbus and home. I'm really excited about the possibilities this bike presents to me, I envision a ride to the west coast just to step bare footed into the Pacific Ocean, or to Florida to feel the gulf coast waters splashing around my ankles. Whatever the trip though, it's the bike itself that will make it not only possible for me, but almost too much fun for one person to legally have. I started riding on a 71 CB100, my first bike which I still have and ride. I rode that to Kentucky as well, two years ago this October, all packed up with camping gear and spent one night at Greenbo State Park. It was cold and wet and windy and a miserable ride, stopping at gas stations every 40 minutes or so hoping that they had hot air hand driers so I could warm my gloves. None of that mattered though, it was the ride that mattered. Oh, I was told by so many people, 'don't do it Jeri, don't go off like this on your own". Pffft. That trip had to be done, it was right after a full restoration of the CB100 and she was looking gorgeous. I had a free breakfast at the lodge the morning I was going home and after donning my rainsuit, came out to find an adult and 5 teenage boys standing around my bike, with a full size van sitting there, doors open. I thought they were going to steal my bike!! I had my helmet in hand and walked towards them wondering who would be the first to feel it smack into their head, the adult I figured would be the one. So.. As I'm walking quickly toward them, one of the teenagers looked up and says "Sorry we're creeping your bike ma'am, we're just try