Barn Find

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
seasicksid
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate

Barn Find

Postby seasicksid » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:09 am

Hi All
Just found this site and have already gained knowledge.
I'm new to Gold wings. I came across my 1984 Interstate 1200 buried in an out building, where it had stood for four years after the previous owner became ill. Think I'll call the bike "Christine" On getting it home I did a few checks, changed oil, petrol and water, put a little oil in the cylinders. Turned it over by hand a few times, then connected it up. Bit of petrol in the intake and she started up. Ticks over smooth. Happy as Larry. Found a petrol leak, so stopped further progress till new pipe kit arrives. I'm intending to completely restore this bike to its former glory. I've done a few bikes in the past but not one as detailed as the Wing. I'm hoping you guys will help me through this new endeavor.

The air suspension has no switches to adjust it. I'm guessing its been set in one position then disconnected, and the switches removed. Can the rear air shocks be replaced by conventional spring shocks?

Cheers.. Sid

dingdong
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Re: Barn Find

Postby dingdong » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:52 am

Welcome to the forum. Sounds like you have a great find. Christine, good choice for her name. One of my favorite old cars. 58 Plymouth.
Tom

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Fatwing Chris
Motorcycle: 2004 ABS Model Goldwing

Postby Fatwing Chris » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:11 am

seasicksid wrote:Hi All
Just found this site and have already gained knowledge.