Scared

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Maddogg
Motorcycle: 1990 GL1500
1994 Suzuki 800 Intruder

Scared

Postby Maddogg » Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:11 pm

I want to change my timing belts on my GL 1500 this winter. I gathered from this website that it's not that bad if you pay attention to what you are doing. I was just over at the Steve Saunders site and he is recommending that I do not attempt it as my first maintenance project. He also said that is not for beginners. I don't really consider myself a beginner as I have been working on cars and trucks all my life. Not as a job but doing my own work when I can. I guess I'm just looking for a little reassurance that I can do it. I don't want to destroy my engine. I am an A/C and heating contractor so I know my way around a garage. I have never gone this deep into an engine before. Was anybody else out there as hesitant as I am on their first timing belt replacement? Thanks. :?

redial
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: Scared

Postby redial » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:59 am

I have not done mine, However, just take it slow and steady. Make sure you have all of your jars/tins lined up to put the bits and bobs in that you will accumulate, preferably in jars marked with the origin (like LH front tupperware, etc), so that you know where to look for the re-assembly. Dont be scared, just be careful!
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

rescue1042
Motorcycle: 1982 honda goldwing interstate
1998 honda 1500 SE
2002 honda Gl1800

Postby rescue1042 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:40 am

if ya follow the the pic on hear under timing belt replace it looks ok to do it looks like to me its just more taking of the shields that is harder lol jk just more stuff to take off
2002 GL1800
I dont always ride!
But when i do it's on a Goldwing!!

Pam