First Goldwing

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1981 GL1100I

First Goldwing

Postby Goldan » Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:57 pm

In 1981 I had a neighbor who loved dirt bike riding and went to a locale Honda dealer to pick up some parts for his bike. While he was making his purchase I was eyeing up the bikes on the showroom floor, one of which was a 1981 Honda Goldwing. I fell in love with it - at the ripe old age of 13. I have had a few bikes over the years since then, cruisers mainly, everything from Yamaha's, to Suzuki's, to my current Kawasaki Vulcan. Just the other day - at the ripe old age of 46 I bought my first "wing" - a 1981 GL1100. It's not perfect, needs calipers rebuilt, right front fork is leaking, slight cosmetic work and other odds and ends - but I couldn't pass it up. It took me back a few years. It has almost 49000 miles on it. I am not a mechanic - don't claim to be, and honestly the prospects of restoring a bike is a bit intimidating because up until now I would rather ride than repair - but I figured I would just go for it and so far I have enjoyed the learning curve. For me, it is a labor of love. I am not sure if I am preserving the bike or the bike is preserving me - either way - I am enjoying the process. I now have boys of my own - the youngest, who happens to be a year younger than I was when I fell in love with the Goldwing loves the bike too. He swears it's way cooler than my much newer Vulcan. Maybe he won't have to wait as long as I did to own one :D This sight is great and I'm glad I found it. Looking forward to learning some things and being pat of the community.

Motorcycle: 1982 Yamaha Venture (Crashed/Sold)
1982 1100 Silver Goldwing (sold)
1989 1500 Beige Goldwing (sold)
1988 1500 Beige Goldwing (current ride)

Re: First Goldwing

Postby Mag » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:03 pm