Introduction... new guy from the South

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
HawkeyeGL1200
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate
1981 GL1100 Interstate

Introduction... new guy from the South

Postby HawkeyeGL1200 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:06 am

I've been riding motorcycles since about 1984. I started out with a Honda, and 30 years later, with one or two exceptions along the way, I find myself riding a Honda. I tried HARD to find a Harley Davidson that fit me. It wasn't meant to be, I guess. I also rode a Suzuki and a Yamaha while searching for the perfect motorcycle. A few years back, a neighbor almost gave me a GL500 Interstate, and I rode the heck out of it...

Two years ago, one of my horses got his hoof hung in some wire, and in all the excitement of getting him cut out (it was all my fault) he gave me a little "love pat" on my left wrist, pretty much shattering the wrist with his hoof... That more or less put me in a 4-wheeler for nearly a year. Once I got the confidence to ride back again, I found a GL1200 Interstate model for sale locally... went for a ride, and won't ever look back. I'm a Wing-Nut through and through. My 1200 is the easiest motorcycle to work on of any I've ever owned or any I've ever worked on. Once you get used to where things are located, and what they do, wrenching is fairly easy.

I thought about "trading up" to a 1500, but there's just too much plastic on them for my eye... maybe one of those SHINY Valkyries one day... A buddy of mine rides a Valkyrie Interstate with a couple of bags on it, and a car tire on the back... I always want to ride it when I see it, but I don't ride what isn't mine or anything I don't intend to buy if it rides right... I'll find the right one soon enough.