Retoration Work in Progress

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
plskthompson1

Retoration Work in Progress

Postby plskthompson1 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:53 pm

Hi guys, new to this forum. Have a Goldwing story that everyone should hear. I have been riding bikes for about 8 years now, I know thats not alot of time compared to some of you guys, but it's more time than alot of the young guys getting killed on bikes because they get to cocky. I learned to ride on an 83 wing with the Vetter Windjammer fairing and Vetter luggage, it was my parent's bike so I needed to find my own ride. A friend of the family had a GS 850 G with all the Vetter set up that wing hand on the cheap, I had to have it. After about two years, the charging system on the Suzuki started frying the rectifiers and I couldn't figure out why so I sold the bike to another guy for even less than what I paid for it and he had it running in about a week. Turns out the starter was shorting out the whole system. Any way, I took the money from the sale and bought a Honda Nighthawk 750 from my brother-in-law. Repaired and repainted what was damaged in the wreck a friend of his had on it and rode it for about two years. This still wasn't what I was looking for in a ride. I had to have a wing, the bug had bitten me when I first learned on that 83 and it never left. I put the Nighthawk up for sale and used the money from that to buy the 80 Interstate that I have today. Now the interesting part, I looked for about a month and found her on CL. No picture was attatched so I took a chance, and my parents and I drove for 6 hours one direction to pick this bike up. I got to the address for the pick up of the bike and boy was I disappointed. The wing had a 1200 trunk bolted to the trunk rack to serve for tail/ stop/ and turn lamps, leather saddle bags on the sides, and a paint job that looked like a 5 year old had painted it on. I had driven too far to go home empty handed, but I wasn't goin