red light changer

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
sapps
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200a Aspencade

red light changer

Postby sapps » Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:39 pm

since I'm new to biking, I was wondering what are your thoughts on these products. are they too good to be true.

themainviking
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: red light changer

Postby themainviking » Fri Sep 12, 2014 5:30 am

Fire departments have them, but they are highly illegal for almost anyone else. If you can buy one on the open market, I would suspect a bit of a scam.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Postby WingAdmin » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:38 am

There are two different kinds.

The kind themainviking is talking about is a type of strobe light that flashes at a specific frequency. This is picked up by the traffic light signals which switches them immediately into emergency mode, to allow the emergency vehicle through. All directions are turned red except for the direction the vehicle is travelling, which turns green.

The other kind is a magnet or coil that you stick on the bottom of your frame. The idea is that it causes the in-road induction coils to pick up the presence of your bike - which is sometimes not picked up, as they are intended to pick up the large metal mass of an automobile.

This is rarely a problem with Goldwings, which have a fair mass of metal in them. I have never seen a report on these units that stated that they could identify them as having any effect whatsoever.

A large majority of intersection control systems now use cameras mounted next to the lights instead of the in-road sensors, so these types of devices are going to be obsolete anyway.

themainviking
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Postby themainviking » Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:44 am