Greetings

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
dtrider
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800

Greetings

Postby dtrider » Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:09 pm

Hello from a new Goldwing owner in Boise, ID. Picked up a 2012 GL1800 on Friday, which will be replacing my 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Venture. As much as my wife and I liked the RSV, I gotta say that I love the lower center of gravity on the Wing and how smooth the thing rides. Plus it's kind of nice when I go looking for accessories to find stuff that is designed for the bike, instead of just stuff that will work on the bike.

I'm still fairly new to bikes in general (I'm 55 but only been riding for 3 years - no clue as to what the hell took me so long) so I'll probably have lots of questions as I explore the bike. Hope you all will bear with me.

Every day is a good day for a bike ride. Some days are just better than others.

redial
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: Greetings

Postby redial » Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:48 am

Welcome Boys and Girl :D, From the Deep Deep South. Get it into a parking lot with a couple of witches hats cones or bins, and practice those slow speed turns. Set the bins closer after a while, and see how you go. Practice long before you put your SO on the back, and then try the same routine with her on the back. There is a thread here, about what a passenger should do, but if you have been riding your RSV for about three years, that should be ok.

Enjoy your GW, and send photos - we all love photos.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

dingdong
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Postby dingdong » Thu Oct 02, 2014 7:06 am

Welcome dtrider from Okla. Nice ride and in black the fastest color. My brother lives in Garden Valley so ride up there once in a while.
Tom