Tire safety

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Bobet
Motorcycle: 2013 GL 1800

Tire safety

Postby Bobet » Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:17 pm

As I am new to touring, 2013 wing and just closing 2000 miles, embarrassing I know as many of you have 00000's but works gets in the way of fun sometimes. My wife and I ride two up on the weekend and as she is new to riding one of her main concerns IS a tire blow out. This weekend there was an accident on the interstate where a back tire blew on a bike with two up and the driver survived but the passenger didn't. I have been watching other blogs and one of the interesting conversations Has been about the use of automotive tires on a wing. So I have two questions. 1. How often should you change your tire and 2, is there anything such as a run flat tire from the dark side that can help? Thanks

HawkeyeGL1200
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate
1981 GL1100 Interstate

Re: Tire safety

Postby HawkeyeGL1200 » Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:13 pm

I change tires when they're worn out. Some change them based on date. I never had a tire that was more than two years old, as far as I can remember, that I didn't wear out. I also never ran a car tire on a motorcycle. The concept appeals to me on some levels, but I am also a little apprehensive as the profile of the bead on a car tire isn't an exact match for the motorcycle rim... that said, plenty of folks run them without incident as far as I can tell.

A run flat tire would certainly afford more safety than a conventional tire. I cannot say how it will handle or feel under you while riding, but I imagine it would be fine.

A well manufactured tire, properly inflated, and monitored probably isn't going to blow out on you... unless you run over a piece of trash in the road of significant size and shape to wreck your tires... Something that destructive is likely going to take out the front tire first, and they don't make a run flat car tire that you can put out there..