What measures do you take to keep safe?

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
CWJ73
Motorcycle: 1990 GL1500SE

Previous
1983 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1999 Suzuki SV650S (sold)
1982 GL1100I Interstate (sold)

What measures do you take to keep safe?

Postby CWJ73 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Reading this thread http://goldwingdocs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=24609 (People are so "Toxic"!!!!!!!) and a couple other similar themed threads recently, got me thinking; What do you do to keep yourself safe from other drivers on the road? You could even go so far as to say what do you do to keep yourself safe from wildlife, poor road conditions, etc...

Being a fairly new and inexperienced rider (8 years under my belt) I am still learning the 'craft'. I like to think I am very aware of my surrounds, checking mirrors and looking around repeatedly, but I occasionally get caught by a vehicle I did not see. I like to keep an 'out' in mind if things go bad and I need to move to a safe place. If close to other vehicles I make sure I can see the driver in their side mirrors. I like to keep a strong 'presence' in my lane to ensure I control it. I never ride beside large trucks and semis and only move beside them if I intend to pass and I do so swiftly. I am more than likely going to stop wearing my 3/4 helmet and stick to my full face helmet. I had never really considered getting bugs or rocks in the face and the potential distraction that could cause or the damage from sliding face first down a road if (when???) a collision[*] occurs.