Intro

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
oldbikes
Motorcycle: 86 honda

Intro

Postby oldbikes » Tue Jun 09, 2015 8:43 pm

Stopped by to introduce myself. So a big Howdy to everyone.

Been lurking here for awhile lots of great info here ,trying to sort out a small problem with the bike with out much success . The problem is what I'd call twitchy handling. Like everything about the bike except it never feels stable under me.

I've been riding since 1960, to many bikes to count. I'm on my 5th Goldwing currently an 1986 Interstate.

trike lady
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade with Voyager (Sold)
1983 GL650I SilverWing Interstate

Re: Intro

Postby trike lady » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:21 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum.
Have you checked the steering head bearings?
I.M.B.B.A. Technician II Certified

oldbikes

Postby oldbikes » Wed Jun 10, 2015 6:32 am

Hi thanks for the reply, I didn't get into much detail because this really belongs in another part of the forum.
Bike has 50,000 miles on it.
So far I've replaced front fork seals, checked wheel bearings front and rear, new tires. Checked the frame to see if someone put a Hinge in the middle of it. JK
Forks don't have any play in them and swing smooth and have no catching or notches from left to right although I will likely take them apart for new lube and adjustment. I noticed one rear shock has a fair amount oil on it so rebuilding that is next on the list, If a passenger is on the bike the handling is much worse and the rear shocks need attention anyway.

The bike never goes in a straight line it requires a lot of attention to stay in it's lane when going into a corner I can't pick a line it needs to be corrected once or twice to navigate any corner. Steering seems twitchy for a bigger highway bike ??

trike lady
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade with Voyager (Sold)
1983 GL650I SilverWing Interstate

Postby trike lady » Wed Jun 10, 2015 6:01 pm