New bike lift

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
waituntilthebeep
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800
Black and Silver
Previously:
1989 GL1500
Wineberry Red
'01 Shadow 750
DOUBLE DARK SIDE #1467 on Michelin Primacy and BT45

New bike lift

Postby waituntilthebeep » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:24 pm

I was looking at buying a service lift for my Wing and was put off by the prices of them. I am a fabricator and big rig mechanic by trade so I spent some time scrounging spare parts and am building my own. So far an International cabover, a building products rooftop delivery conveyor and the sloppy seconds of a Moffett forklift have donated their parts to the project. Now if I could just get a truck to say, "I just don't need that $300 piece of nifty aluminum diamond plate anymore so you just go ahead and take it". Don't think that is ever going to happen though . The only time I ever remove and don't reinstall a piece of diamond plate is when it is unusable. Guess I will have to pony up for that but hey... I will only be $310 into the project so what they hey? Right? Anyway... here it is as a rough frame assy and when I get it planted and decked, I will update the thread. It is currently a hand pump up and down but I also have a spiffy liftgate motor that is unacceptable for use as a liftgate setup but will do way more than I need it to for the bike lift - Is rated at 2700 psi and only outputs 2350 so customer wanted it replaced. Works for me. Tommy Gate is adding to the mix now I guess. I don't toss much. Got too many projects to complete. lol

minimac
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade
2006 Burgman Executive
2007 Yamaha Majesty
2006 Yamaha Morphous-(2018 cannonball scoot)

Re: New bike lift

Postby minimac » Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:34 am