Greetings!

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Xionsparkle
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

Greetings!

Postby Xionsparkle » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:56 pm

Hello! I just joined and thought I would say hi. Never really thought I would own a goldwing, but I got mine as a gift and fell in love with the bike. im also probably the youngest person I know riding one at only 23, I've grown up around motorcycles and riding. I've been riding for about 4 or 5 years now. My friend bought it for me after my beloved 1982 yamaha vision and I were hit by a Buick where I was stopped at a cross walk for a pedestrian as is law in the town I was in. The driver was texting. The impact bent the frame and totalled the bike sadly. My friend found the bike for me and bought it because he felt bad. I'm beyond greatful as the bike is a lot of fun. Found out the bike had sat for sevaral years and she fired right up with a jump. It has issues, but im working to fix it all and restore it. So far I've had the damper plate fail and rebuilt the clutch with new dampers and friction disks I cleaned the oil screen and flushed the block out with oil and all. New rear brakes. New plugs and wires. Drained and flushed the cooling system. New clutch cable and throttle cable, and will be putting new tires on over the winter. Oh and new battery the day I got the bike. Only head scratchers I have going is why does the speedometer not work and what do I do about a cracked fairing? It's cracked on the black plastic part on the inside of the fairing on the right side when sitting on the bike, you know, where the radio isn't. I was thinking of cutting out the center and making like a little second glove box, but I'd rather fix it as origional as possible with out putting a new fairing on... any ideas?

Any way glade to be here and I love my old goldwing.

Solina Dave
Motorcycle: 1978 Honda Goldwing GL1000 (bought in fall of '77)
!977 Honda CB550F (my 1st motorcycle)

Re: Greetings!