The Invisible Motorcycle

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
propstop
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

The Invisible Motorcycle

Postby propstop » Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:04 am

Why are our motorcycles invisible to our fellow motorists? I am pretty new to biking after a 35 year hiatus. But the few bikers I have spoken to recently all have a horror story about being run over by another vehicle. Here is mine!

This labor Day, in broad daylight, a driver pulled out in front of me as I was traveling about 45mph on a nice paved highway on my 83 Goldwing. I swerved hard to the left and was struck from my front peg all the way back to the saddlebag. Bag and bag guard was crushed and the front spoiler on the car was ripped off. By the grace of God when I swerved hard and was clearly going down, the strike to my bike stood me back up and I was able to stop my bike without going down. I would like to think the Evel Kneivel in me came rushing out, but the truth is God saved my butt once more. The driver stated she was unaware of me until we crashed. I'm a big guy, my bike is fairly big, and all lights were ablazing and she couldn't see me!

My question is," What do we do?". Personally I believe fore and aft facing photon torpedoes would help.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: The Invisible Motorcycle

Postby WingAdmin » Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:32 am

I had this taste of the "other side" happen to me back in May, and it scared me...

I like to think that as a motorcyclist, I am much more aware of bikes on the road - I always make sure that when I see one while driving, I keep my eye on him, keep track of where he is in relation to me, and just basically keep in mind that he's smaller and harder to see than I am in my big truck.