Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
kicker29
Motorcycle: 1987GL1200 Interstate

Postby kicker29 » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:44 am

Hi all, I am new to this site and like it very much. I just bought a 1987 GL1200 Interstate. I have been out several times on it and love it. I have not owned or been on a bike since 1980. Well last May I drove my friend's 2003 H.D. softail for about 15 minutes. He wanted me to buy it but I wasn't ready. The last bike I owned was a 1977 Kawasaki KH400. Huge difference from the goldwing!!
It looks like I will be retired May 1. I am a Boilermaker by trade and we can retire early at age 55. :D I am looking forward to a lot of riding. I really love the goldwing, what a ride!! :!: It is not real pretty to look at as the paint is faded. A paint job in the off season may be instore. My thinking was that I would buy an old goldwing and try it out for a season. If I didn't like it or if I dumped it, (I have never ridden anything this big) I didn't have a lot of money into it. WOW!! I just can't get enough riding.
Right now I am having a slight problem with brake lights but because of the help I recieved here I pretty much have it all under control.
Thanks so much for the help and hope to meet some of you on the road. Thanks again.

kicker29

Re: New Member

Postby kicker29 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:43 am

Good morning to all. A friend of minr who works with boats told me that I should be able to just buff the paint and it will come right back to a nice shine. He said it sound like it is just damage from the sun and that it is just the clear coat. He said to use a light buffing compound then polish. What do you guys think? :?: :?

rfoley
Motorcycle: 2002 Gold Wing

Postby rfoley » Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:48 pm

Welcome My Friend, I hope You enjoy Your Bike and the help You got and will get from Us.
Roger Foley
Louisville Ky. 40214

wally
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100A Aspencade

Postby wally » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:43 pm