Yet another newbie here...:)

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Birdoprey
Motorcycle: 82 GL1100 Interstate
03 Hayabusa

Yet another newbie here...:)

Postby Birdoprey » Sun May 15, 2011 11:52 pm

Hi,

Had a fella i know give me a 81 or 82 GL1100. It would not crank a couple of years ago and after replacing the battery and having the starter checked by a local MC shop, he just let it sit in his garage. I had not seen him in a couple of years and asked him how his bike was running. Well, you already know the story. The night i picked it up i checked everything and found the starter to be in bad need of rebuilding. I picked up a new one on Ebay and got it installed this past friday. Picked up a new battery(the new one he put on it two years ago was DEAD) and the bike fired up pretty easy(had two year old gas in it). As of right now, i've gone through two tanks of fuel and lots of carb cleaner. The bike runs great, idles well and is very smooth. Carbs respond well at all rpms.
I'm new to the touring bikes. Currently have a 03 Hayabusa and have owned many late model big bore crotch rockets and have done a good deal of drag racing. Even owned a Suzuki TL1000S as well as a 89 Yamaha V-Max. I don't think i've actually enjoyed riding any of my past bikes as much as i've enjoyed riding this old 'Wing! My kids(12 year old son, 10 year old daughter) absolutely LOVE this bike. They don't wanna ride the 'Busa at all now!
There are a couple of things i don't like about the gl1100 i have...the air suspension is too mushy. Even pumped up to the max(57psi/rear, 21psi/front) the front is too mushy. The rear feels stiff enough but does not seem to react to bumps(almost like its too stiff, but if i drop the psi much at all it bottoms out). Also don't like the rpms it pulls when running 65-70mph(just over 5000rpm at 65 and just under 5500 at 70mph!).