Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1990 1500GL

Postby Madams » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:05 pm

Hello everyone,

I wanted to say hey and thanks for keeping this site up and running. I wanted to introduce myself a little and tell you how I got into my GL1500.

So, riding motorcycles have been on my bucket list since I graduated High School way back in 1987 but I never had the time or money to take the safety classes or some other excuse that made since at the time. For my birthday last year my wife signed me up for the class and told me I was going to do this (probably to shut my belly aching up about wanting a motorcycle) so off I went and did the class and got my endorsement. A bit before the class I scored a 1983 Yamaha XJ750 Midnight Maxim and was pretty happy with it. The only problem is I am 6'-2" tall and that bike is made for more like a 5'-10" person. So, I got it in my head that I needed a bigger bike.

About 4 months after I got my endorsement my Uncle got sick and passed away. Before he passed I had a chance to talk with him about motorcycles and we bonded pretty good over it. He had been riding since he bought is first bike back in 1963, a Cooper (I guess it's a British made hill climber) and has loved every year. Well, his current bike was a 1990 Honda Goldwing with a sidecar. We got a chance to check it out and boy was that a gorgeous bike.

After he passed away my dad called me up and asked if I would ride Uncle Wades bike in the funeral procession. Of course I said yes, how can you turn down a request like that? So I headed over the mountains to test drive the bike and get used to it. Well it fit like a glove and I felt so at ease on it I was sad to call it a weekend and go back home.