newbie intro

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1982 gl1100 aspencade

newbie intro

Postby deerhunter » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:38 pm

Hello all,
I am new to goldwings, so I am sure I will come up with some newbie questions for you all....
I just acquired a barn special, a 1982 gl1100 aspencade with 34k miles. I traded my harley davidson 1988 sportster 883 hugger for it.
The idiot I got it from had it for a couple months after sitting for some time. He had done some real " hillbilly" stuff to it. I think he meant well but he should not have been left alone with a tool box
For starters he "rewired" some things, which for me is no big deal to fix properly. He also took off the air shocks and replaced with standard coil over shocks . Also ripped out the compressor which was in one of the saddle bags. He also drilled some holes in the other bag and stuck a garden tractor battery.I guess to save a couple bucks.
Since I have had this bike I have fixed the electrical issues and replaced the final drive seals, as it was leaking a little. This was a learning experience for me as all my previous bikes have been chain drive.
The bike runs like a dream. And most of the issues I have found so far have been easy fixes.
I guess my first question is there anything mechanical I should do to make sure she continues to run well? Actually I found this site doing a search on syncing carbs as I plan on doing this along with an oil change and replacing the plugs. Anything else I should plan on doing?

Any input will be greatly appreciated

Motorcycle: Me on my 1981 GL1100 at Jones Beach in 1984

Re: newbie intro

Postby N2PPN » Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:36 pm