Install a kick stand/kill switch on your 82 goldwing 1100

Step-by-step tutorials on how to maintain and fix your GL1100
  • Sponsored Links
nlaspencade
Motorcycle: 82 Aspencade

Install a kick stand/kill switch on your 82 goldwing 1100

Postby nlaspencade » Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:04 pm

I’ve been riding motorcycles for 45 years and it’s only in the past 4 or 5 years that for some reason (aging aside) I find I am more frequently riding away with the kickstand left down.

Most of the occurrences would be quickly rectified leaving a parking lot with a slight jolt reminding me (at low speed) of my inattentiveness. But, twice now I’ve discovered at the end of a 1hr ride driving at 110km/hr that the stand was down the whole time. No matter how infrequent my forgetting the stand, the chances of my surviving an incident at that speed would most likely only be slim at best!

I considered using the warning lamp styles similar to those posted on this site, but I know my complacency would occasionally over look that too. I frequently ride with a group of riders and wanted the ability to start the engine while it is resting on the stand but would cut the engine when placed in gear if the stand was left down.

So, I’ve installed a safety switch on my kickstand. I didn’t intend to post this, because the topic is very well covered in many other posts, but I have since decided to offer it as an option for anyone who may be going to have their cycles apart (for re-painting etc.) in which all of the harness connectors are readily available. Of course it can be installed by without a full tear down as well, as I did here.

For its operation I used a 5 pin NC (Normally Closed) relay (I scavenged it from the junk yard. Very common in GM vehicles). The switch I used on my stand is a park brake warning switch (also from a GM, used it because I had it). You can use any momentary switch of your choice, sealed proximity switches offer the best weather protected option.