• Sponsored Links
sjb15316
Motorcycle: 1990 GL1500
2001 V-Star 650 Classic
1979 Yamaha MX 175
1973 Suzuki RV 125

How to LED your windshield

Postby sjb15316 » Sat May 17, 2014 2:52 am

This is my first attempt at a "How-To" anything, so please be cautious in attempting this modification. It is really not that difficult, but you will need to 'cut and fit' your connections and for my application, soldering was required. I will make every attempt to give you all the information (and my opinion occasionally) regarding this application.

I've been wanting to do something special with the 'extra' LED's that were left over from my recent projects and thought: "How cool if you could light up your windshield". I searched the forums and there are few 'topics' on the subject of "effect lighting", but nothing like this. So I went out to the shop after researching "How to replace your windshield" (Thanks WingAdmin) and started removing the panels to get to my windshield. Basically use those instructions # 1 - 10 and stop.

I then placed my windshield on top of a cooler with a micro-fiber towel under it to reduce any scratching that might occur while working on it.

Since I'm sure this is the original windshield, I made sure to clean all the surfaces with a cleaner and allowed to dry. While it was drying I measured and 'made up' my string of lights. I use WATERPROOF 3825 RGB LED's (approx 18 pods/ft) and they are marked where you can cut them to length.

(Note: LED RGB 5050 are really nice lights, and they are noticeably brighter but use a greater amount of electricity and may be too bright for this application.)

After getting the length, I soldered the '4-wire' supply line to the strip and heat shrunk the end.

NOTE: LED strips are relatively 'durable' and can withstand a minimal amount of neglect, but please try to be as careful as you can with them because I have had 'strings' to malfunction after bending or dropping them.