GL 1800 Heated Seat Foam Modification

Step-by-step tutorials on how to maintain and fix your GL1800
  • Sponsored Links
troaf76
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800HPNAM

GL 1800 Heated Seat Foam Modification

Post by troaf76 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:49 pm

Before I begin, this mod was done because I felt I needed more/softer padding in my seat. Due to my lack of padding “back there”, the seat is just plain too hard for me. If you don’t want softer you should consider not trying this, or adjust what kind of material you put back in to get the results you want/need.

THIS PROCEDURE HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED BY HONDA.

I saw some very similar seat mod write ups online, and wish to publicly thank those posters for inspiring me. However, I’ve yet to see a “start-to-finish” one for a heated seat model. This is my attempt.
This modification was completed start to finish in less than one day, not including getting the supplies. I am a fairly accomplished shade-tree mechanic and at no time did I feel that I was in over my head. I would say if you’re doing your own service and a big piece of the maintenance on your own bike, you are good enough to try this. But only you know for sure. I make no claim as to whether or not something can go wrong. Be your own judge of talent.
The biggest fear I had was not knowing the particulars of the heaters, and the possibility of totally messing them up before I knew it. I soon found out that if I took my time with them, it would be OK. I estimate the total job time to be 8-9 hrs, give or take. My total dollar figure was less than $25, the vast majority of that being the adhesive. Even if I’d have had to buy my replacement foam, it would have been under $50. Not bad at all, considering the good results.

And yes, my heated seats still work like they should.