GL1800 in line lighter fuse?


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
gof
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Crown Point, Indiana
Motorcycle: 2004 Titanium Gl1800 & 1984 Gold Wing Aspencade 1200

GL1800 in line lighter fuse?

Postby gof » Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:59 pm



So the fuse in my lighter was blown - I have a buss type fuse in line under the pocket. I have a small 12v air compressor and I replaced the fuse which read 250v? Very small fuse - what size is safe or needed to run this little air compressor? It blows the fuse when I turn it on.



User avatar
themainviking
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: GL1800 in line lighter fuse?

Postby themainviking » Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:08 pm

If you are referring to the cigarette lighter type plug inside the left pocket, you cannot use it as such, nor as a high power socket. It is similar to a power point socket in a car. It is very low fused power for recharging cell phones or running an ipod, etc. If you wish to run a compressor, you will have to install a direct heavier fused line on your battery, such as 20 amp. Use of higher power devices in the power point endangers your wiring in that area, as it is very light wiring.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GL1800 in line lighter fuse?

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:23 pm

If the fuse is blowing, that's its way of telling you that "hey, whatever you just plugged into me is drawing too much power, so I am blowing the fuse instead of melting/burning the wiring harness."

The fuse should be replaced with the same size fuse (look at the amp rating on the fuse, not the volt rating).

Like viking said, if you want to run something that draws a lot of current, like a compressor, you'll need to install a second, fused connection from the battery, using heavier wire that can handle the power requirements.


Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zum [Bot] and 2 guests