Radio Shack Fuse Holder


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
tom84std
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:40 am
Location: Arlington, Texas
Motorcycle: '84 STD 1200
2002 VTX1800
2007 Shadow 750
69 BSA Bitsa
2004 Virago
VW Trike

Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby tom84std » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:38 pm



Wingadmin suggested the Radio Shack inline 30A fuse holder. I had my doubts because even though I'm a former Tandy employee, RS is not really well known for having high quality electronic hardware. I took Wingadmin's word and ordered it. I got it in. Boy am I surprised!! Good quality 10ga wire, nice heavy guage 1/4" connectors and they are very nicely plated with a tight fitting cap that has positive sealing properties. Overall it appears to be a very high quality piece of hardware. Please keep in mind that over a period of about a year and a half I tried three different types on my 1000 and each only lasted a few months and they all failed in a puff of smoke while on the road. I think I've finally got a main fuse holder I can depend on.



User avatar
SilverDave
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:39 am
Location: Langley, BC
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby SilverDave » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:47 pm

I replaced mine with a high capacity, marine quality , large wire gauge fuse holder...



Marine fuses have almost a tough a life as on a motorcycle ...perhaps worse ... ( salt water )

You can pick up one with a good waterproof top at most boating shops ....

I run mine with a red 40 amp fuse, and its lasted 7 years so far .

SilverDave

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby redial » Sun Oct 21, 2012 10:46 pm

Just be careful with using higher than specified fuses. The reason that a fuse is inserted is to stop overloads of the circuits. For example, to go from 5 to 20amps could be flirting with a disaster later on. It may work temporarily, but an overload could be on the horizon, especially on a long trip with all the electrics working.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:57 am

tom84std wrote:Wingadmin suggested the Radio Shack inline 30A fuse holder. I had my doubts because even though I'm a former Tandy employee, RS is not really well known for having high quality electronic hardware. I took Wingadmin's word and ordered it. I got it in. Boy am I surprised!! Good quality 10ga wire, nice heavy guage 1/4" connectors and they are very nicely plated with a tight fitting cap that has positive sealing properties. Overall it appears to be a very high quality piece of hardware. Please keep in mind that over a period of about a year and a half I tried three different types on my 1000 and each only lasted a few months and they all failed in a puff of smoke while on the road. I think I've finally got a main fuse holder I can depend on.


I was surprised as well - I got mine on the advice of someone else, and I had similar misgivings about using a Radio Shack product, but I was similarly impressed with the quality of construction.

User avatar
SilverDave
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:39 am
Location: Langley, BC
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby SilverDave » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:30 pm

... Well... I talked to my ( electrical) engineering friend before doing this...( Using a tough fuse holder, and a 40 amp fuse )

Everything else is fused with fuses ranging from 5 to 25 amps... and all before the lines sweep out over the rest of the bike... Even the Electrical Connections harness is in-line fused , right at the battery ... so this 40 amp was done for convenience... and it only has to protect from where the dog-bone used to be, for 16 inches or so to ... to the battery, and stator and box connections ...

All the wires in that short length are either pretty tough ( starter) or covered in a long length of shrink wrap , and well away from and sharp metal frame parts...

In other words, I want to use the blown fuses in the primary and secondary fuse boxes to give me a hint as to what / why it blew out...
And... If necessary, pull one of those many fuses, and still limp home.

And I understand your criticism about 40 amp fuses... but I blew the dogbone twice over 5 years ... and it turns into a roadside "puzzle" until you start searching around ..... with a 40 amp in there... something else will blow first... I hope ...

SilverDave

bustedwing
Posts: 1052
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:17 pm
Location: Hermansville, Mich
Motorcycle: 1990 Gold wing Trike
Contact:

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby bustedwing » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:08 pm

I used the maxi fuse whjch is just the same style but bigger sized and a 50 amp fuze since the dogbone was 55 amp.
Proud member Patriot Guard

User avatar
vtxcandyred
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:08 pm
Location: Oregon, Ohio
Motorcycle: 1993 Honda Goldwing SE

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby vtxcandyred » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:28 pm

Some of you are comparing apples to oranges here. Theres a difference between the 1200's and the 1500's main fuses. I replaced mine on the 1200 Aspy with a thirty amp blade type fuse holder with a wateeproof cap over it. I did that when I did the three yellow wire fix too. The 93SE I did the same thing, mostly because someone who had it before me broke the bakelite piece holding the dogbone fuse, and never fixed it. I believe it was a fifty or fifty five amp and I installed a fifty amp like on the Aspy.

franky9322
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 INTERSTATE

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby franky9322 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:42 am

[quote="bustedwing"]I used the maxi fuse whjch is just the same style but bigger sized and a 50 amp fuze since the dogbone was 55 amp.[/quote]


SO for the GL1200 (not the 1500) 35 or 40 or 45 or 50 AMP .?.......( first what is the AMP on the original the dogbone fuse AMP ?)

THANKS GUYS :D

have a great day :)

bustedwing
Posts: 1052
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:17 pm
Location: Hermansville, Mich
Motorcycle: 1990 Gold wing Trike
Contact:

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby bustedwing » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:38 am

On the 1500 you could read 55amp right on the ceramic side of the dogbone ,and I believe you can do the same with the 1200. I have not looked at one myself so I cannot truthfully say what amperage it should be but I did hear a lot of discussion about 40 amp on 1200.
Proud member Patriot Guard

franky9322
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 INTERSTATE

Re: Radio Shack Fuse Holder

Postby franky9322 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:15 am

bustedwing wrote:On the 1500 you could read 55amp right on the ceramic side of the dogbone ,and I believe you can do the same with the 1200. I have not looked at one myself so I cannot truthfully say what amperage it should be but I did hear a lot of discussion about 40 amp on 1200.


THANKS




Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest