Train whistle horn


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
cedobihal
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:08 am
Location: Maplewood, MN
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500 SE

Train whistle horn

Postby cedobihal » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:35 pm



I'd like to add a horn to my '89 1500 that sounds like a train whistle, loud and authoritative. Anyone know where I can find one?



User avatar
trike lady
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Butler, PA
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade with Voyager (Sold)
1983 GL650I SilverWing Interstate

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby trike lady » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:52 pm

I had on my 1500 an automobile dual trumpet air horn. The compressor was in the saddlebag and the trumpets under the saddlebag. Those horns got your attention real quick.
Even had some people in the Wal-mart parking lot jump a country mile when I hit the button. :mrgreen:
Try a place where they sell accessories for cars and trucks (not 18 wheelers).
I.M.B.B.A. Technician II Certified

User avatar
dingdong
Posts: 2864
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:35 am
Location: Oklahoma City
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby dingdong » Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:19 am

Tom

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby Dogsled » Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:28 pm

I had a set of those.......I removed them because ther's a time lapse for them to work.....You never realize how long a second or two is until you get into a situation, blow the horn and nothing happens. It's almost like grabbing your brakes and having to wait 2 measley seconds for them to respond.....I have a set of dual electrics (Fiamm Freeway Blaster Horns) that will make a dead man move......I read that they are two different keys that are the most likely to get ones attention. You can buy one or both. They just replace the OEM horns direct.
http://www.aerostich.com/fiamm-freeway- ... -horn.html
I bought mine at AutoZone even cheaper
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

cd51gw
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 4:45 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Motorcycle: 2001 Goldwing

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby cd51gw » Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:49 am

Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby Dogsled » Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:00 am

No, I just unplugged my od horns and plugged in the new ones. They fit right in the OEM and are electric, plug and play. If you want to get someones attention (or look like a ****), get an electric Ahoogha horn.....I got one cause fortunatley I looked like a **** even without it.

I only blow my horn at women! I find blowing the horn at a car pulling out in front of you means they don't see you, your evasive action can be way more effective with out someone slamming on their brakes when they wake up or drop their cell phone....
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby WingAdmin » Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:12 pm

cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?


I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby Dogsled » Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:53 pm

WingAdmin wrote:
cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?


I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.



I never rewired anything..................I very rarely blow my horn. but that's good to know. Isn't the OEM horns on a relay and a fused line?

Was all that in the installation directions?......I knew I shoulda read them, but then again, my wires will only burn up now that I know all this stuff. That sounds like alot of work just to switch horns.
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby WingAdmin » Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:25 am

Dogsled wrote:
WingAdmin wrote:
cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?


I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.



I never rewired anything..................I very rarely blow my horn. but that's good to know. Isn't the OEM horns on a relay and a fused line?

Was all that in the installation directions?......I knew I shoulda read them, but then again, my wires will only burn up now that I know all this stuff. That sounds like alot of work just to switch horns.


The horns are on a fused circuit (just like everything else on the bike), but it shares that circuit with your turn signals and brake lights - so if you blow the fuse with the horns, you also lose your brake lights and turn signals!

There is no relay between the horn switch and the horns - all the current goes directly through that switch.

GL1500 horn circuit
GL1500 horn circuit

User avatar
Kiwi2
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:07 pm
Location: New Zealand
Motorcycle: 1988 GL 1500/6
Contact:

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby Kiwi2 » Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:51 pm

cedobihal wrote:I'd like to add a horn to my '89 1500 that sounds like a train whistle, loud and authoritative. Anyone know where I can find one?


This is what I think you may be looking for

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Train whistle horn

Postby Dogsled » Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:26 pm

Thanks for the schematic. That would suck to burn up the button. I got a screwed up flasher button I can't fix I don't need another problem. I've had the Fiamms on for years with no problems.

I am going tomorrow to look at a new Yamaha YZ8. I'm really curious to see what they will give me on a trade in. I would prolly buy it outright but I am curious about trade in value.


"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"


Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RoadRogue and 2 guests