Page 1 of 1

Train whistle horn

Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:35 pm
by cedobihal
I'd like to add a horn to my '89 1500 that sounds like a train whistle, loud and authoritative. Anyone know where I can find one?

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:52 pm
by trike lady
I had on my 1500 an automobile dual trumpet air horn. The compressor was in the saddlebag and the trumpets under the saddlebag. Those horns got your attention real quick.
Even had some people in the Wal-mart parking lot jump a country mile when I hit the button. :mrgreen:
Try a place where they sell accessories for cars and trucks (not 18 wheelers).

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:19 am
by dingdong

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:28 pm
by Dogsled
I had a set of those.......I removed them because ther's a time lapse for them to work.....You never realize how long a second or two is until you get into a situation, blow the horn and nothing happens. It's almost like grabbing your brakes and having to wait 2 measley seconds for them to respond.....I have a set of dual electrics (Fiamm Freeway Blaster Horns) that will make a dead man move......I read that they are two different keys that are the most likely to get ones attention. You can buy one or both. They just replace the OEM horns direct.
http://www.aerostich.com/fiamm-freeway- ... -horn.html
I bought mine at AutoZone even cheaper

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:49 am
by cd51gw
Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:00 am
by Dogsled
No, I just unplugged my od horns and plugged in the new ones. They fit right in the OEM and are electric, plug and play. If you want to get someones attention (or look like a ****), get an electric Ahoogha horn.....I got one cause fortunatley I looked like a **** even without it.

I only blow my horn at women! I find blowing the horn at a car pulling out in front of you means they don't see you, your evasive action can be way more effective with out someone slamming on their brakes when they wake up or drop their cell phone....

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:12 pm
by WingAdmin
cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?
I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:53 pm
by Dogsled
WingAdmin wrote:
cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?
I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.

I never rewired anything..................I very rarely blow my horn. but that's good to know. Isn't the OEM horns on a relay and a fused line?

Was all that in the installation directions?......I knew I shoulda read them, but then again, my wires will only burn up now that I know all this stuff. That sounds like alot of work just to switch horns.

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:25 am
by WingAdmin
Dogsled wrote:
WingAdmin wrote:
cd51gw wrote:Dogsled, did you have to install a relay in your dual Fiamm setup?
I put the same Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns on my 1100 - a high tone and a low tone. One horn alone draws more current than BOTH the OEM horns, so you absolutely must put a relay in there (and run a separate, fused line from the battery) to power them, or you will either melt wiring and/or burn out your horn switch.

I have air horns on my 1500, but I left the OEM horns in place as well, so I have both an instant on horn, plus the blast of the air horns after a very short delay.

I never rewired anything..................I very rarely blow my horn. but that's good to know. Isn't the OEM horns on a relay and a fused line?

Was all that in the installation directions?......I knew I shoulda read them, but then again, my wires will only burn up now that I know all this stuff. That sounds like alot of work just to switch horns.
The horns are on a fused circuit (just like everything else on the bike), but it shares that circuit with your turn signals and brake lights - so if you blow the fuse with the horns, you also lose your brake lights and turn signals!

There is no relay between the horn switch and the horns - all the current goes directly through that switch.

GL1500 horn circuit
GL1500 horn circuit


Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:51 pm
by Kiwi2
cedobihal wrote:I'd like to add a horn to my '89 1500 that sounds like a train whistle, loud and authoritative. Anyone know where I can find one?
This is what I think you may be looking for

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: Train whistle horn

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:26 pm
by Dogsled
Thanks for the schematic. That would suck to burn up the button. I got a screwed up flasher button I can't fix I don't need another problem. I've had the Fiamms on for years with no problems.

I am going tomorrow to look at a new Yamaha YZ8. I'm really curious to see what they will give me on a trade in. I would prolly buy it outright but I am curious about trade in value.