Searching for Old Fogey Topic- Valve Seals

Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
triketrash
Motorcycle: 1981 GL1100 Interstate

Searching for Old Fogey Topic- Valve Seals

Postby triketrash » Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:05 am

Hi guys- I ordered up a new gasket set for my GL 1100 today and am studying up to change the valve seals without removing the heads. I keep reading here that Old Fogey put together a pictoral article on doing this, but can't find a link to it. Anybody have that? I am most concerned about how to keep track of the rockers after removing that assembly. I've never done it before and am afraid I'm gonna mix something up. I was hoping to be able to compress the springs without taking the rockers off but that just seems like too much fiddling. Also, do I need to coat the lobes, journals etc with lube before putting it back together? I'm hoping I can leave the cam in place while I do the seals. I saw somewhere that you could use a bungey cord to keep the cam in place. Thanks, Vince

Sagebrush
Motorcycle: 1981 GL1100
1982 GL1100
2001 GL1800 CSC Trike
2002 GL1800

Re: Searching for Old Fogey Topic- Valve Seals

Postby Sagebrush » Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:55 am

You can find any article he may have on the subject at his website located here: http://www.wingovations.com

ct1500
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Postby ct1500 » Thu Dec 19, 2013 7:52 am

No two ways about it valve springs must come off unless you were thinking of cutting the new seals in half and slipping them in between the spring coils which would defeat the whole purpose. :)
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

triketrash

Postby triketrash » Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:23 pm

OK got it- the link to the article discussing valve seal replacement without removing heads is here:

http://www.ngwclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14861

triketrash

Postby triketrash » Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:34 pm