VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:21 pm



I tried 4 different locations...each one had it's problems...mostly being washed out by the sun...
I settled on this location...it's deep in the shade all the time,just below the dash for easy viewing....
I drove morning till well after dark and could read it at a glance at any time...
I purchased a 5 lot of these off a US seller on E-Bay for the outrageous price of $15.50 :D ..There small...just 1/2" high and 1" wide ....
I mounted this one on a piece of aluminum about 1-1/4" X 2" then sealed the edges with silicone....
It's held to the faring with a couple of screws and tied into my outlet plug thats in the left pocket.
There's a ridge in the faring...it's right up next to it...Move it too far and you can't see the whole display....There's just enough gap for a clear view and it does not interfere with the forks....



OnPapasWing
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 am
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby OnPapasWing » Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:52 pm

Why are you only reading 11.5 volts?
Since you are going to an outlet plug I would assume that this is tied direct to the battery?!?

The PO added a voltmeter and oil meter (both analog) to my bike and neither one seem to be very accurate. The oil meter is all over the place, completely dropping out at idle. The voltmeter is inconsistent and doesn't match what I'm reading on the battery with my DMM. I haven't done any troubleshooting to see where it was hooked up to.

A very col setup though. Great location, out of the way but visible. Because it's buried I suspect that even in the bright sun it would still be easy to see.

Steve

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:07 pm

11.5 volts...I ran the surface charge off the battery playing with it for a few hours.That was a accurate reading.
Its tied to a ignition switched accessory relay direct from the battery and the bike was not running.
Cranked the bike up and it settled between 13.6 and 14 volts.The same as my DVM measured at the battery.
Even in the bright of the day,reguardless of the direction,I could always read the display.
The one I mounted behind the speaker grille and under the left switch cluster would wash out.

User avatar
wing rider 2012
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: Southern Oregon
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800 Level I Blue/Silver
1998 GL1500 Aspy
1985 Venture Royal 1300
1979 GL1000

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby wing rider 2012 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:16 am

I've installed a number of these voltmeters on bikes, however, not from this vendor, the price is fair at about 3.00 per voltmeter. Seeing how there is no housing for these voltmeter you have to take caution when mounting these to prevent moisture from entering the voltmeter. The ones I use have a calibration pot on the rear of the PCB to adjust the voltmeter to read the correct voltage, most of the time I have found these to be anywhere from .5 to 1.5 volts off. After calibrating the voltmeter the unit worked great and the voltage followed my DVM to the .01 volt. I like using the Blue or Green display because they do not wash out as much in the sunlight like the Red ones do.

Your mounting of the voltmeter look great, good job.
Vietnam Veteran
9th ID, Jan 69 - Oct 70
Member: Military Order of the Purple Heart
Member: Vietnam Veterans of America
Member: GWTA. Chapter A, Grants Pass, Oregon

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:10 pm

I did waterproof the display with a silicone bead.As far as the accuracy...so far they have been right on.Im only interested if it falls off quick.Like dropping from13.5 to 12.1 while I'm out of town.
I don't really care if it shows 14.2 or 13.8 volts.As long as it stays up above what I see with just the key on(12.5) I'm confident it's charging.
This is my early warning display.Not intended for the tenth of a volt accuracy.
I don't expect much from a $3 meter.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:16 pm

By the way Wing rider...Would you share your supplier of the meters you purchase.??

User avatar
wing rider 2012
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: Southern Oregon
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800 Level I Blue/Silver
1998 GL1500 Aspy
1985 Venture Royal 1300
1979 GL1000

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby wing rider 2012 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:29 pm

virgilmobile wrote:By the way Wing rider...Would you share your supplier of the meters you purchase.??


Because of the amount of voltmeters I've installed in the last year, about 25 of them, I order mine from the manufacture in China, I can't recall the name right off hand. My last order was for another 25 units at a cost of 1.75 per voltmeter. They are the same ones you see on Ebay and Amazon, just at a cheaper cost and it takes about 2 weeks to get them here.
Vietnam Veteran
9th ID, Jan 69 - Oct 70
Member: Military Order of the Purple Heart
Member: Vietnam Veterans of America
Member: GWTA. Chapter A, Grants Pass, Oregon

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:35 pm

OK,thanks...I don't have a need for that many but I'll keep it in mind if I need to find ones that I can calibrate...
The ones I bought were from the US and they arrived in 3 days...

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:57 am

One thing to keep in mind with low-cost voltmeters is that they rarely have any filtering in them. They will read the voltage off a battery quite accurately, but as soon as there is any kind of noise (i.e. the type injected into the +12V bus by the alternator/regulator), they start reading much higher than they should. I had a small cheap LCD voltmeter meant for a car, but hooked up to my GL1100 and its noisy electrical system, it would read almost a volt and a half high when the engine was started.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:04 pm

I'll keep this in mind...probably attach a homebrew filter just in case...So far it's been rock stable and accurate for the 8 intermittent hours of use over the last few days of trials.

OnPapasWing
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 am
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby OnPapasWing » Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:31 pm

The PO installed an Equus voltmeter and hooked it up to the accessory terminals. Doesn't seem to be very accurate or consistent. Anyone know anything about these? Maybe I just need to find a different place to monitor the voltage from.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Apr 30, 2014 4:26 pm

OnPapasWing wrote:The PO installed an Equus voltmeter and hooked it up to the accessory terminals. Doesn't seem to be very accurate or consistent. Anyone know anything about these? Maybe I just need to find a different place to monitor the voltage from.


Don't know first hand but yours may be suffering from what the Admin just described above...Noise generated by the bike being induced into the meter...A noise filter may help if you want to leave it attached there.
I'd rewire direct to the battery post for a test to see if its a wiring or meter problem.
My accessory line that I monitor is a relay being switched from the accessory terminal and the switch contacts take power direct from the battery(fused at 10 amp) and send it up to the left pocked outlet.
The voltage that's in the pocket outlet is directly connected to the battery...
I didn't want to use the bikes wiring for my outlet plug and meter..
Perhaps that's why my meter is so stable..

User avatar
wing rider 2012
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: Southern Oregon
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800 Level I Blue/Silver
1998 GL1500 Aspy
1985 Venture Royal 1300
1979 GL1000

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby wing rider 2012 » Thu May 01, 2014 10:30 am

OnPapasWing wrote:The PO installed an Equus voltmeter and hooked it up to the accessory terminals. Doesn't seem to be very accurate or consistent. Anyone know anything about these? Maybe I just need to find a different place to monitor the voltage from.


Am I right to assume that the Equus is an analog voltmeter? If so, the analog voltmeters are far more sensitive to noise than the digital ones, this is due to the way they are made. You will notice this when the vehicle starts and the voltmeter needle will vibrate about a half of volt both directions. The age of the voltmeter has a lot to do with how accurate the meter is, if the series resistor in the voltmeter has changed value the meter reading will be inaccurate.
Vietnam Veteran
9th ID, Jan 69 - Oct 70
Member: Military Order of the Purple Heart
Member: Vietnam Veterans of America
Member: GWTA. Chapter A, Grants Pass, Oregon

User avatar
tandem54
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby tandem54 » Thu May 01, 2014 11:47 am

I like where you installed yours, I won the January contest (a Universal Voltmeter) and installed it on my 88 wing.
Took me a while to figure where I wanted to mount it, (after a couple hours routing wires and cutting the hole)
I haven't noticed any problem with the sun and that's a big problem here in AZ LOL!!
Attachments
I’d rather be Riding my Motorcycle thinking about God
Than sitting in church thinking about my Motorcycle

User avatar
wing rider 2012
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: Southern Oregon
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800 Level I Blue/Silver
1998 GL1500 Aspy
1985 Venture Royal 1300
1979 GL1000

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby wing rider 2012 » Thu May 01, 2014 12:15 pm

tandem54 wrote:I like where you installed yours, I won the January contest (a Universal Voltmeter) and installed it on my 88 wing.
Took me a while to figure where I wanted to mount it, (after a couple hours routing wires and cutting the hole)
I haven't noticed any problem with the sun and that's a big problem here in AZ LOL!!


That's a great looking install job.
Vietnam Veteran
9th ID, Jan 69 - Oct 70
Member: Military Order of the Purple Heart
Member: Vietnam Veterans of America
Member: GWTA. Chapter A, Grants Pass, Oregon

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Thu May 01, 2014 1:20 pm

Yours is a different size display.Much larger and it has a non glare diffuser lens on it.This makes a big difference in visibility.
Also the cost.You really do get what you pay for.
Because I'm really cheap,I chose the bare bones display and the smallest one I could find.My display is just 1/2 inch by 1 inch wide,no waterproofing,no diffuser lens and very small.
Your large display is in the perfect spot.It would never fit where I put mine.Most of it would be hidden,impossible to see the entire set of numbers.
Mine sets just a few inches below the instrument cluster,very easily catching my eye.
Yours is a very good job for the display you have.It looks perfect.
Job well done.

OnPapasWing
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 am
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby OnPapasWing » Thu May 01, 2014 7:07 pm

"Am I right to assume that the Equus is an analog voltmeter?"

You are right Wing rider. It is analog. I winder if I can get a digital one to install in that location? I'll have to look online. Might be a good idea.

Steve

OnPapasWing
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 am
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby OnPapasWing » Thu May 01, 2014 7:48 pm

Alright, so I found a digital 2" round blue LED readout gage that should work pretty good. About $20. Sounds pricey but many of them were at least $90 and some were even over $200. So if it doesn't work I'm out $20. Gotta look and work better than what I have now. I'll take pics when I get it in. The PO installed a gage accessory panel just in front of the ignition switch. Might swap out the oil gage too. Make it digital as well.

One thing I noticed about the current oil pressure gage is that the oil in the line is not solid. It looks like a dashed line, if that makes sense. Obviously the oil does not completely fill the tube. Should it?

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Thu May 01, 2014 8:16 pm

The oil line should not have air bubbles in it.Air compresses like a spring.You could idle the bike and crack the fitting loose at the meter.Tighten it up when the oil runs without bubbles in it

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby WingAdmin » Thu May 01, 2014 8:26 pm

virgilmobile wrote:The oil line should not have air bubbles in it.Air compresses like a spring.You could idle the bike and crack the fitting loose at the meter.Tighten it up when the oil runs without bubbles in it


Air may compress like a spring, but if there is 50 PSI of oil at one end, there will be 50 PSI in pressure at the other end, regardless of whether or not there is air in between.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby virgilmobile » Thu May 01, 2014 9:38 pm

This is true about the pressure,lack of bubbles may increase stability of the display...
At least in my mind.....y'all know how that works. :roll:
It wouldn't hurt to bleed it out.

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade.
2003 - GL1800A

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby MikeB » Thu May 01, 2014 11:13 pm

I think bleeding the oil out of the line at the fitting may make you feel good initially but ultimately there will be air in the line no mater what you do. There is air in the Bourdon tube of the meter and it isn't going anywhere.
MikeB
Tacoma, WA, USA

User avatar
vv0350
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:05 am
Location: Earlsboro, Oklahoma
Motorcycle: 97 GL1500 SE

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby vv0350 » Fri May 02, 2014 9:46 am

So, I am interested in doing one of these…our alt failed and we had not clear notice until the battery was dead…
I understand cutting into a hot wire for + & - side to the wire..what is the third wire for…?
Thanks

User avatar
wing rider 2012
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:49 pm
Location: Southern Oregon
Motorcycle: 2012 GL1800 Level I Blue/Silver
1998 GL1500 Aspy
1985 Venture Royal 1300
1979 GL1000

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby wing rider 2012 » Fri May 02, 2014 9:59 am

vv0350 wrote:So, I am interested in doing one of these…our alt failed and we had not clear notice until the battery was dead…
I understand cutting into a hot wire for + & - side to the wire..what is the third wire for…?
Thanks


Typically the third wire you are wondering about is just to power up the display, if you just connect the BLUE wire (as shown in the OP) then the voltmeter would read 0.0 volts. When I install 3 wire voltmeters I connect the 3rd wire and the main power wire together using the AUX terminal at the fuse block.
Vietnam Veteran
9th ID, Jan 69 - Oct 70
Member: Military Order of the Purple Heart
Member: Vietnam Veterans of America
Member: GWTA. Chapter A, Grants Pass, Oregon

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: VOLTMETER PLACEMENT ON A GL1500

Postby WingAdmin » Fri May 02, 2014 10:22 am

I usually wire my voltmeters as close to direct to the battery as possible. So the "sense" wire would go to a fuse, then directly to the battery, and is always hot. The "trigger" wire then goes to the ACC terminal, which turns it on when the bike is switched on. That way you get the most accurate reading of battery voltage, without having to take into account voltage loss of the multitude of connections, terminals, fuses, switches, relays, etc. in between the ACC terminal and the battery.




Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests