Re-torquing a newly installed head


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
Overdog
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Motorcycle: 83 Goldwing Interstate

74 BMW R90/6

Re-torquing a newly installed head

Postby Overdog » Sat May 16, 2015 8:52 pm



Ok...I know you need to re-torque the head after the bike has been running. Is bringing the bike up to operating temp. several times in the garage good enough or does it really need to be ridden for awhile first? I should have the bike running in a day or two but the front end and fairing still have to be re-installed. I could fire the bike up each time I go out to work on the other stuff



Old Fogey
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Motorcycle: 1976 GL1000
1979 GL1000
Contact:

Re: Re-torquing a newly installed head

Postby Old Fogey » Sat May 16, 2015 9:05 pm

I can hear the howls of protest, but I don't believe in the re-torquing of heads. I never have done it, and I get no head gasket troubles.
If you have used good quality head gaskets, greased the head bolt threads and heads, and torqued them down to the correct setting in the correct incremental sequence, that should be enough.
There is no recommendation to do it in any of the manuals; not even in my Clymer Book-of-Lies! :D
Image Image

'Impossible' is just a level of difficulty! The only stupid question is the one you didn't ask first!

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 813
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: Re-torquing a newly installed head

Postby ct1500 » Sun May 17, 2015 4:33 am

Unless specified by a manufacturer re-torque is an absolute not.
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

Old Fogey
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:09 am
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Motorcycle: 1976 GL1000
1979 GL1000
Contact:

Re: Re-torquing a newly installed head

Postby Old Fogey » Sun May 17, 2015 6:44 am

ct1500 wrote:Unless specified by a manufacturer re-torque is an absolute not.


I'm marking this day down on the diary! Someone agreed with me (for once)! :o :o
Image Image

'Impossible' is just a level of difficulty! The only stupid question is the one you didn't ask first!

User avatar
dingdong
Posts: 2863
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:35 am
Location: Oklahoma City
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Re: Re-torquing a newly installed head

Postby dingdong » Sun May 17, 2015 7:45 am

I'm no expert mechanic so I can't say one way or the other what is correct. However I did re-torque mine. Head gasket replacement from Randakksblog. See #18 for re-torque. http://www.randakksblog.com/gl1000-gl11 ... t-details/


Tom

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.


Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest