satellite radio


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
happydave
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Warwick,Rhode Island
Motorcycle: Moto Guzzi Breva 1100, Honda GL 1500se

satellite radio

Postby happydave » Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:17 am



Have a 93 GL1500 and would like to add satellite radio without breaking the bank, ideas/comments? Thanks



dadztoy
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: eastern Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 HPNAM9

Re: satellite radio

Postby dadztoy » Sun Jun 21, 2015 12:51 pm

does your 1500already have the aux audio input mod??? http://www.sierra-mc.com/gl1500auxinput.html If it does, find an XM radio and subscribe...

You can also use a Garmin Zumo 665 which comes with XM but it's not cheap!!!

Or you can buy an XM radio for not so much and feed it into your 1500 radio via the aux mod...

http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Axm%20radio&tag=goldwingdocs-20

Les

happydave
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Warwick,Rhode Island
Motorcycle: Moto Guzzi Breva 1100, Honda GL 1500se

Re: satellite radio

Postby happydave » Sun Jun 21, 2015 2:33 pm

So just need 12 volts to run and tune thru radio?

dadztoy
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: eastern Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 HPNAM9

Re: satellite radio

Postby dadztoy » Sun Jun 21, 2015 3:44 pm

If your bike already has the aux input mod, yes, it's that simple... If you don't have the input mod on your radio, then you will have to use an FM modulator or cassette adaptor to bring in the XM audio... On most XM radios you will also need to mount an external antenna somewhere on the bike...

Les

User avatar
Rob H
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:41 am
Location: Muscat Oman
Motorcycle: 2000 1500 SE, XR 650, CBR 600, Harley FB, KLR 650, CBX 750 Cafe Racer, Z1000 Eddie Lawson.

Re: satellite radio

Postby Rob H » Sun Jun 21, 2015 7:59 pm

Hello,

Will this Radio work anywhere in the world? Pardon the question if it seems it ignorant, but I am shipping my bike to Europe at the end of the month and wonder whether it will be worth having?

Thanks
Rob

dadztoy
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: eastern Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 HPNAM9

Re: satellite radio

Postby dadztoy » Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:45 pm

According to my research it will NOT... Here are the North American radio coverage maps for Sirius XM... The XM/Sirius system depend on satellites that are in geosynchronous orbit over the USA. Their coverage doesn't reach to other areas on the globe.

Les

Last edited by dadztoy on Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Rob H
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:41 am
Location: Muscat Oman
Motorcycle: 2000 1500 SE, XR 650, CBR 600, Harley FB, KLR 650, CBX 750 Cafe Racer, Z1000 Eddie Lawson.

Re: satellite radio

Postby Rob H » Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:49 pm

200 miles off shore! I am going a little further than that so it is not going to work for me.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: satellite radio

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Jun 22, 2015 10:14 am

happydave wrote:So just need 12 volts to run and tune thru radio?


Keep in mind that the satellite radios normally have a DC/DC converter inside the "cigarette lighter plug" that converts the ~12 volts from your vehicle down to around 5-7 volts. You can't cut that plug off and wire it directly into your bike, this will feed 12 volts to the radio, and will fry the radio.

User avatar
CMReynolds1
Posts: 647
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:56 pm
Location: Oregon
Motorcycle: 2013 F6B

Re: satellite radio

Postby CMReynolds1 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:08 am

When I installed mine on the 1800 I took the lighter plug apart and desoldered the input wiring from the ground and center post. I then added bike wiring at these two inputs, ground and 12 VDC supply. Sealed the assembly and that allowed for me to hard wire and still keep the DC voltage reduction circuitry. I also mounted the antenna under the cowling just below the windshield. This works quite well and hides it. This is also where it is mounted on the factory models on 1800's. As was mentioned if you already have an AUX input to your radio, most of the work is done. Just dealing with the power cord. Good luck.
Attachments
Ride Safe,
Taz


TF 116, RivRon 512, Can Tho, S. Vietnam, 8/66-/9/68, GM(G)2

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17046
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: satellite radio

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:12 am

CMReynolds1 wrote:When I installed mine on the 1800 I took the lighter plug apart and desoldered the input wiring from the ground and center post. I then added bike wiring at these two inputs, ground and 12 VDC supply. Sealed the assembly and that allowed for me to hard wire and still keep the DC voltage reduction circuitry. I also mounted the antenna under the cowling just below the windshield. This works quite well and hides it. This is also where it is mounted on the factory models on 1800's. As was mentioned if you already have an AUX input to your radio, most of the work is done. Just dealing with the power cord. Good luck.


I have done exactly the same thing (hard-soldering the input wires inside the plug) to several of my satellite radios, including the one now on my GL1500. My antenna is mounted on top of the glareshield, just behind the windshield, and it works very well there.

GRAPEAPE94
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:01 am
Location: VENICE, FL
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800

Re: satellite radio

Postby GRAPEAPE94 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:36 pm

I have an older DELPHI ROADY XT and love it. The receiver is no longer made but I was able to obtain 3 new ones several years ago at a great price. With all of the punishment that the original went through I just replaced it with one of the 3 new ones. This radio works on 5vdc and many years ago J&M sold a 5 volt converter that plugged into the harness on the left side of my "06. My antenna is mounted behind the windshield on top of the dash and the radio is wired to my aux. I think that the newer ones work off 7vdc.




Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests