Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:57 pm



Fuses are not just an inconvenience...they are an extremely important safety item. Wiring without fuses (or with oversized fuses) will melt and burn.

Burned GL1500
Burned GL1500



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:48 pm

And always use the fuse at the point of connection,not at the load end.

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby Dogsled » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:08 pm

virgilmobile wrote:And always use the fuse at the point of connection,not at the load end.


Yikes, gotta change my aux. power supply fuse down to the POC.... I have one connection at the battery and want to run two aux power plugs off one line for 2 GPS units. The wire should be heavy enough, what amp fuse would anyone recomend?
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:32 pm

Fuse to protect the wire in case the device or wire shorts out.example...a #14wire can safely carry about 7 amp over a few feet so don't put in a 20.obviously you can use a smaller fuse.so look at what you want to hook to the wire(amps required)size the wire to 125% of the max load and gust the same.
I suspect that to operate a GPS and a phone charger a #14 wire fused at 5 amp would surfice.

User avatar
littlebeaver
Posts: 4420
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Motorcycle: 1981 gl 1100 I , 79 Yamaha XS11
Special, 82 Kawa 750 CSR, 82 Kawa 750 LTD, 03 Kawa Nomad 1500, 99 Kawa Voyager 1200

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby littlebeaver » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:28 am

That's Scary man, this is why I ask alot of questions, this is why I insist on doing it the best way I can...

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby Dogsled » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:07 am

Thanks Virgil, didn't mean to hi-jack the thread but I do have the fuse for the existing power supply up near the plug. It's all apart now so I can change it easily. This is a great heads up to keep in mind when adding accesories.
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

User avatar
robb
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 7:46 pm
Location: Lexington, North Carolina
Motorcycle: 1989 Honda GL1500 Aspencade

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby robb » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:59 pm

A 14 guage wire is good for 15 amp load on bike. Generally all your 12 volt plugs will be fused internally to protect the device they relate to. Fuse the wire within 1 foot of battery or accessory terminal and it will protect bike if wire becomes damaged.

User avatar
littlebeaver
Posts: 4420
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Motorcycle: 1981 gl 1100 I , 79 Yamaha XS11
Special, 82 Kawa 750 CSR, 82 Kawa 750 LTD, 03 Kawa Nomad 1500, 99 Kawa Voyager 1200

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby littlebeaver » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:19 am

I have a question, :D :D I have a auto type stereo and I was going direct to the battery with a fused line, being that the stereo has a on off switch and I know the line is hot all the time , Well what I'm asking is do I need a 12volt relay for that ...? Or does the stereo switch on off keep it from running down the battery..silly question I know.. :shock: I have my running lights on a relay..

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby WingAdmin » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:16 am

littlebeaver wrote:I have a question, :D :D I have a auto type stereo and I was going direct to the battery with a fused line, being that the stereo has a on off switch and I know the line is hot all the time , Well what I'm asking is do I need a 12volt relay for that ...? Or does the stereo switch on off keep it from running down the battery..silly question I know.. :shock: I have my running lights on a relay..


It really depends on the stereo. Most auto stereos expect to have two power lines: one that is connected to the battery at all times (to retain the memory/clock), and one that is switched with the key (which is the main power line). You can hook both to the battery if you like, which means you'll be able to run the stereo even if the key isn't in the bike. Whether or not your stereo actually draws any significant amount of power when it is turned off (which it will be able to do, being that it's connected directly to the battery) depends entirely on the design of the stereo itself. You could hook an ammeter into the main power line and see if there is current flowing when the stereo is off to know for sure.

User avatar
HyperPete
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:00 am
Location: Marietta, PA
Motorcycle: 2008 Suzuki M109R
Brand new to me 1982 GL1100 Aspencade

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby HyperPete » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:31 pm

WingAdmin wrote:Fuses are not just an inconvenience...they are an extremely important safety item. Wiring without fuses (or with oversized fuses) will melt and burn.

Image


That'll buff right out...
Some scientists claim that hydrogen, because it is so plentiful, is the basic building block of the universe. I dispute that. I say there is more stupidity than hydrogen, and that is the basic building block of the universe.
Frank Zappa

User avatar
robb
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 7:46 pm
Location: Lexington, North Carolina
Motorcycle: 1989 Honda GL1500 Aspencade

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby robb » Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:25 pm

I would suggest a fused wire from battery to radio continuous power. Tap that wire and break through a relay that is activated by any source that is made hot with switch. A relay is the safest insurance against forgeting to turn radio off and having to deal with a dead battery on ride day. About $10 for parts and a lot of peace of mind later.

My background has been industrial controls for more than 35 years. A fuse will protect the wiring and a relay will eleminate doubt and make it much easier to test later.

User avatar
littlebeaver
Posts: 4420
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Motorcycle: 1981 gl 1100 I , 79 Yamaha XS11
Special, 82 Kawa 750 CSR, 82 Kawa 750 LTD, 03 Kawa Nomad 1500, 99 Kawa Voyager 1200

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby littlebeaver » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:38 pm

Thank you Robb I will take your advise...

User avatar
joew7139
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:54 pm
Location: Warner Robins, Ga
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200A ASPENCADE

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby joew7139 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:56 pm

I was checking some wiring on my GL1200A and saw smoke coming from under the seat. I was quick enough to pop the left side cover and cut the wire that was burning loose from the battery. The PO had installed a cigarette liter and ran the wires to the battery without a fuse. On further inspection I found the wire pinched under the seat and when I started moving wires around in the fairing area it shorted to the frame. If it had happened when I was riding or when it was parked next to my truck it could have been a lot worse. I was very lucky that day.
I disconnected the battery and looked for any more surprises the PO had left but couldn't find any.

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby Dogsled » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:07 pm

joew,
mine was run the same way but fused up at the lighter. After reading this post I fused it down at the battery now. I have the radio out for the MP3 mod so I ran two lighters (one on each side of the radio plastic. Like you, the wire coming up under the seat and plastic COULD BE run out of the way but I couldn't keep it where I wanted. So up by the 2 new lighter sockets and along the frame I ran a nice bead of hot glue to hold wires in place. I never did this so I don't know how long it will stay secure. If anyone has done this and it doesn't work, i'd like to know, it seems strong.
"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:14 pm

Dogsled wrote:joew,
mine was run the same way but fused up at the lighter. After reading this post I fused it down at the battery now. I have the radio out for the MP3 mod so I ran two lighters (one on each side of the radio plastic. Like you, the wire coming up under the seat and plastic COULD BE run out of the way but I couldn't keep it where I wanted. So up by the 2 new lighter sockets and along the frame I ran a nice bead of hot glue to hold wires in place. I never did this so I don't know how long it will stay secure. If anyone has done this and it doesn't work, i'd like to know, it seems strong.


Hot glue can get soft at temperatures found around the motorcycle engine. A safer method is to use wire loom, which is a plastic sheath that you can run wires through. It's cheap, and comes in various diameters and lengths:

Wire loom
Wire loom

Dogsled
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Boardman, OH
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Re: Please use fuses when adding wiring to your bike

Postby Dogsled » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:32 pm

Excellent point AND tip, thanks.


"Fight until hell freezes over, then fight on the ice"


Return to “Tech Talk”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest