Stainless steel wool for exhaust packing

Reference information handy in one place - part numbers, aftermarket equivalents, circuit diagrams, and more
  • Sponsored Links
DJnRF
Motorcycle: 1981 GL1100i Interstate
And, many others since I started riding. Started on a Harley in 1956.

Stainless steel wool for exhaust packing

Postby DJnRF » Mon Aug 11, 2014 3:15 pm

In adding packing to quiet the exhaust system the best steel wool to use is
one of a course Stainless Steel wool. The one that I have found describes it
in the following manner:

"Made from long lasting corrosion resistant stainless steel Alloy 434.
Highly Resistant to Exhaust Acids and High Vibration,
An Excellent Material for Muffler Baffling.
Excellent for noise reduction and heat insulation.
Heat Resistance up to to 1500 Fahrenheit."

I bought a pack of eight pads on eBay for $8.95 and $4.33 shipping.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/310192153355?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
The company (Lustersheen) has more info on its web site. The
seller's (pawts) shipping was very fast.

I intend to try stuffing a couple of pads up in the tailpipe and
securing them in with a couple of stainless steel screws to quiet
my exhaust some.

In looking for stainless steel pads to use I found a lot about the
different types of stainless steel wool. Most will not take the
heat, moisture, and acids of an exhaust system, and will come
apart soon. This pad is the only one even listed by this company
that is shown for exhaust packing. The others they have are not.

This info should be a help to anyone that wishes to get such
pads for their exhaust system.

Dave.

"Survival is one's own ability to cope with and overcome any adverse or threatening situation, condition, casualty or event." ©Dj 1969

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Stainless steel wool for exhaust packing

Postby WingAdmin » Tue Aug 19, 2014 12:45 pm