Electricity 101 Part 5: Soldering Techniques

Reference information handy in one place - part numbers, aftermarket equivalents, circuit diagrams, and more
  • Sponsored Links
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Electricity 101 Part 5: Soldering Techniques

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:50 pm

When talking about soldering, it's far easier to demonstrate the technique I use than to attempt to describe it. So here is my demonstration:

charliektm400exc
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE

Re: Electricity 101 Part 5: Soldering Techniques

Postby charliektm400exc » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:00 pm

Great video. I've been soldering for 40 years, but nobody ever taught me properly so I was self taught, and you've given me some answers to problems I've had. I will be able to do a much better job now.

As for soldering on the road, I just cary a handful of posilocks and I think that's a better option then trying to use a butane flame, but each to his own.

Charlie

gwbldad
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100 Interstate

Postby gwbldad » Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:28 am

Great video, great technique.
I have found that letting the newly soldered joint cool before moving it greatly reduces the possibility of mechanical failure, too.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:46 am

gwbldad wrote:Great video, great technique.
I have found that letting the newly soldered joint cool before moving it greatly reduces the possibility of mechanical failure, too.

Absolutely, I should have mentioned that. Moving a solder joint before it has solidified can cause a cold solder joint, which not only can fail mechanically, but does not seal properly against oxidation, so it can fail electrically as well. A good solder joint will be shiny and smooth. A cold solder joint will be dull and/or rough:

barnaclebill