Coast to coast riding old Honda GL1000 ‘79

Reports and stories from trips, planning of gatherings, questions about how to get there!
  • Sponsored Links
lemmenjoki
Motorcycle: Honda GL-1000 1979

Coast to coast riding old Honda GL1000 ‘79

Postby lemmenjoki » Sun May 11, 2014 8:16 am

Hello!

This is Adam from Poland. I have been reading goldwingdoc forum many times and received many valuable information, but this is my first post.
Me and my 14 years old son are going to ride the Honda GL1000 ’79 from Oceanside California to New York. This is the project for one month. We’ll arrive from Europe to Los Angeles on SUNDAY, JUN 22, than we’ll take the train to Oceanside to pick up the bike. This is my friend’s bike who moved from California to Europe few years ago and our plan is to ride this bike from coast to coast (from Oceanside to New York).
I have been riding motorcycles for almost 30 years, so I am pretty experienced driver :-), but frankly speaking I have never ridden the old GL. I have few older bikes like BMW K100LT ’87 or Suzuki GS650GT ’82 so in terms of weight and age is pretty similar to naked GL1000. Because this is the trip with my 14 years old son I have to be very precise and prepare all things in advance.
We’ll be self sufficient (tents and all camping equipment) but besides the journey between National Parks and so on it would be nice to meet some people. If somebody would like to meet us on the way we’ll be glad (my e-mail: agrzeg@wioslo.pl). And maybe it will be possibility to join some GL lovers meeting/rally…
Our path is more-less like this: