Quitting My Day Job

Reports and stories from trips, planning of gatherings, questions about how to get there!
  • Sponsored Links
djolesiak
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade SEi

Quitting My Day Job

Postby djolesiak » Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:25 am

I've been thinking about quitting my day job and becoming a full time motorcycle tour guide. Not sure if it's a good idea or not but it seems like a huge global business. I'm planning on starting out doing road tours here in the US and maybe later adding some international tours. Not sure if I should go work for someone to learn the ropes or just dive right in and start my own company. I'm good at building websites and marketing. I'm a mechanic by trade. I already know the back roads of this country very well as I've been touring them for 27 years now. My brother in law is a contract lawyer specializing in insurance so I'm sure he'll be useful and he's German as well which may come in handy. My wife is Peruvian and speaks perfect Spanish and English and has a degree in Business & Finance so she should be able to handle the business side of it. My son speaks 5 languages so he'll be good at translating the websites into different languages. It seems with my skills and resources available, it's time to take the plunge. Anyone have any thoughts on this idea?

jacksprat54
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

Re: Quitting My Day Job

Postby jacksprat54 » Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:57 am