New to Goldwing

Reports and stories from trips, planning of gatherings, questions about how to get there!
  • Sponsored Links
gmessina
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800
2001 VT1100C Sabre
1982 Kawasaki 440 LTD

New to Goldwing

Postby gmessina » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:35 am

Happy New Year to eveyone!!

I am new to the Goldwing, bought a 2006 GL1800 in November (big step up from my 1100 Sabre). Lord willing and the creek don't rise, I am planning to retire this coming summer. When that occurs I would like to make a trip from NW Louisiana to the Washington, D.C. area. How do I go about preparing myself and the bike for such a trip?

Thanks in advance for any assistance
Jerry

Redman1
Motorcycle: 06 Goldwing

Re: New to Goldwing

Postby Redman1 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:41 pm

Goldwing wont need much prep.change oil.check tire pressure.fill up and enjoy

gmessina
2001 VT1100C Sabre
1982 Kawasaki 440 LTD

Postby gmessina » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:57 pm

I am thinking I will need more prep than the bike :|

themainviking
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Postby themainviking » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:07 pm

yup.... find an empty parking lot anytime and anywhere you can, and practice, practice, practice. The more you practice the better you will be able to low speed control your bike and the better you will know how it reacts and handles. They are fantastic motorcycles, but like jet fighters, sometimes the pilots need to work on their skills. Have a lot of fun with it. Welcome to the forum and to the world of GL1800.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

gmessina
2001 VT1100C Sabre
1982 Kawasaki 440 LTD

Postby gmessina » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:05 pm

Thanks for the help

Jerry

OldZX11Rider
Motorcycle: 1994 Honda GL1500 Goldwing SE

Postby OldZX11Rider » Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:26 pm

Got to agree with the above. Practice the low speed til you're comfortable with the bike.