HELP!!! FNG needs help with 1977 GL1000

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
philjimpot
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000

HELP!!! FNG needs help with 1977 GL1000

Postby philjimpot » Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:08 am

Hi Guys,
I’m new to goldwings as well as the forum. I bought a 1977 GL1000 today. I bought it knowing that there is a “noise” coming from the clutch area. The bike came with hard bags and in one of the hard bags were clutch plates. After further inspection, I noticed that the clutch cover is off and the clutch case cover looks like it has a new seal on it. The guy I bought it from didn’t say anything to me about him replacing a clutch.

I have not started the bike yet because I want to go over a bunch of stuff first so I have not personally witnessed the “noise.” He said that he thinks the noise might be a bolt on the harmonic balancer that is backing out and hitting the case and it probably needs tightened up. He also said that this was a common thing to happen on goldwings. Is this true?

With the bike in neutral, I thought I would try turning the engine over (not starting it) using the kick starter and I noticed significant resistance. Now, I know the cylinders are under compression and I can expect to meet some resistance but this seemed to be way more than normal. Like I said, I never owned a Goldwing before so this may be normal. My 1975 CB750 is not this bad however. Anyhow, I thought maybe I would pull the spark plugs and try turning the engine over again using the kick starter. Once again, I meet signifcant resistance with plugs out. Is this normal? I can't hear anything grinding but it just feels tight.

If it is NOT normal to have significant resistance, is it possible to mess something up during a clutch replacement that would make the engine meet great resistance? Can you over torque something?