Intermitent ignition

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
larrycole
Motorcycle: 1976 GL1000

Intermitent ignition

Postby larrycole » Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:37 pm

Hi, new to the board and have one of those occasional electrical gremlins that are so hard to sort out. Last year my wife and I went from Denver, through Utah to the Grand Canyon, towing a single wheel trailer with my 1976 GL1000. Although the temps were often hot (104+) the engine temp stayed in a reasonable range. A couple times a day the bike would just suddenly die, like I had hit the kill switch. I could just pull in the clutch, hit the starter, and it would start right up again. My dash voltage meter would still show 14.5 volts during the dead period. This was a little disconcerting in 100 degree temps in the desert with no cell service. I have a Dyna S system and a 1 year old battery. I've been riding this bike around the west since 1985, so it's not a restoration project.

So far I have:
Put in new Dyna coils, disassembled and cleaned the kill switch, unplugged and cleaned every connector and plug I could find, put in a blade type main fuse, replaced the wires to the Dyna S, checked all the grounds, tested the ignition switch (replaced about 10 years ago). It still will occasionally just stop dead, hot weather or not. I should mention the 7v regulator isn't regulating, so the gas and temp gauges often peg, but sometimes return to normal. I have checked and cleaned the infamous 3 yellow wire plug, but it looks good. I always keep the battery on a battery tender when not riding.

Anything I'm overlooking here? Is this the dreaded black ignition wire issue?

Larry Cole
'76 Yellow

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Intermitent ignition

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:55 pm