Is Victor~Reinz Good Head Gasket?

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
1grouch2u
Motorcycle: 1976 Honda Goldwing GL1000

Is Victor~Reinz Good Head Gasket?

Postby 1grouch2u » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:02 pm

I found Victor~Reinz head gaskets for GL1000 . I know they are a division of Dana, and have used their stuff before in automotive applications. Anybody had any experience with their head gaskets for a GoldWing? I'm thinking they'd probably be really good but wanted to check here first. Thanks!

Fred Camper
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000, 1976 LTD GL1000

Re: Is Victor~Reinz Good Head Gasket?

Postby Fred Camper » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:29 pm

Do be careful, I am not an expert but others have had head gasket trouble in a year with a bad choice. I suggest you post this question at NGWCLUB.com as well if you cannot fine enough data searching here and at NGWCLUB.

SteveB123
Motorcycle: 1982 1100I, 60A Poorboy, MSD coil

Postby SteveB123 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:27 am

No experience with with Victor, but I sucessfully used Vesrah on a recent head rebuild.

Make sure your head is flat!
http://goldwingdocs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=13935
Current:82 GL1100 Interstate, 60 Amp Poorboy, MSD coil
Previous: 93 GSX1100F Katana
82 GL500 Silverwing

wjnfirearms
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000
1980 KZ750 LTD
2007 H-D XL1200C

Postby wjnfirearms » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:45 am

Steve is giving you good advice. I don't know why you had to replace them, but one big mistake many DIYers make, both on cars and water cooled bikes, is not making sure that the heads are true before reinstalling them.