1975 GL1000 Starter

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Greezmunky
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000

1975 GL1000 Starter

Postby Greezmunky » Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:13 am

first let me say my battery is good,and I've replaced the relay/solenoid.
I picked up a '75 that's been sitting for around 8-10 yrs.The starter wouldn't even budge when I got it,but the motor is free.So I take the stater apart and just give it a good cleaning,and now I can get it to spin using jump cables from a car.It still will not budge inside the engine,though.My solenoid is new,so I've got a loud click coming from it.The stater sounds like it want to do...something...but,no spinning/whirring/whining.
I can reach inside and spin the cog(inside engine)with very little resistance,so I don't think it's getting hung up,there.
I would really appreciate any advice as I'm still a little new to motorcycles,and the is my first Goldwing.I just need to get this thing spinning so I know what I need to do next to get it back in running order...Carbs/valves/points..ect..ect..
Thanks in advance!

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1975 GL1000 Starter

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:42 am

Just to verify,remove all 4 spark plugs and try again.
Sometimes a starter can spin on the bench with no load but loaded with full compression they just die off.
You can also boost from your car direct to the engine block and the starter stud to bypass a possible corroded groung lug at the engine from its battery.
If nothing you try gets it turning,pop the starter back off.
Remember,it relies on a mechanical connection at the brush plate to complete the circuit so corrosion there can kill the starter.
Double check the bushings too.the one at the head has a tendancy to wear.Under load it can bind up.

bucskin

Postby bucskin » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:37 am