Can't figure out wiring on my first rebuild.

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Spidermonkey
Motorcycle: 1976 Goldwing GL1000

Can't figure out wiring on my first rebuild.

Postby Spidermonkey » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:13 am

I just started my first motorcycle rebuild and i'm pretty much just googling my way through it. I've never done anything like this before so go easy on me.

I picked up a "junked" 1976 gl1000 came with fairing, trunk, saddle bags, etc I'm currently trying to wire the thing but everything was taken apart and a lot of the wires aren't the original color I picked up the wiring schematic but it's pretty much an alien language to me. can anyone help me figure this out?

P.s. I don't think it would be so difficult if everything hadn't been totally separated.
Attachments

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Can't figure out wiring on my first rebuild.

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:06 am

It does look like there's a few extra wires...
Personally I'd be removing anything that's not original wiring then determine what doesn't work and fix it...
Many times,someone may just add a hunk of wire to bypass a failed switch or circuit that quit.It's always best to keep it original..or as close as possible...
There are variables..like the reserve lighting magic box...hate that thing...there is a bypass for that.
Are you having a particular problem with a circuit???
Does the engine run?
Have you replaced the timing belts.?

Dogsled
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing

Postby Dogsled » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:37 am

First go to the top of the page here and see if you can load as many manuals for your bike as possible.

Since you don't know if all the parts are even there you may want to go to http://ngwclub.com/forum/ and think about that.