Spark Plug Test...what am I doing wrong?

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Lastwachter
Motorcycle: 1978 Honda GoldWing
2000 Buell Blast

Spark Plug Test...what am I doing wrong?

Postby Lastwachter » Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:43 am

The engine will start, however its not running smoothly. I am still in the process of going through everything. I was trying to check to see if each plug sparks, however I cannot get a spark on any of them. Now with a little effort she will start up, so at least one has to be firing, but I am getting nothing...

I pull a plug, ground it to the engine by touching it to the engine and hit hold the starter...nothing. I have tried this on all 4 with no avail. I am new to this of course, what am I doing wrong?

thrasherg
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: Spark Plug Test...what am I doing wrong?

Postby thrasherg » Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:34 am

You sound to be doing it correctly! The spark is quite weak when cranking the engine over, so it needs to be fairly dark to see the spark. Also you didn't say if you where using a spare spark plug for the test, if you are, are you sure the spark plug works? As your engine starts it sounds like the plugs in the engine are probably okay, so maybe remove one of them and use it for the test. If you are already doing that, I don't know what else to suggest, you do seem to be doing the test correctly. Have you checked that you are properly pushing the spark plug into the rubber boot so that it does make contact with the metal clip inside the rubber boot to transfer the electricity to the spark plug?

Gary

Placerville
Motorcycle: 1976 Naked Yellow

Postby Placerville » Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:14 pm

[quote="Lastwachter"]SNIP.... "I pull a plug, ground it to the engine by touching it to the engine and hit hold the starter...nothing./quote]