1979 GL1000 timeing Spocket question

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
mholmes7979
Motorcycle: 1979 GL1000 Goldwing

1979 GL1000 timeing Spocket question

Postby mholmes7979 » Sat May 03, 2014 1:00 pm

New to the user group so any help would be appreciated. I'd like to say that I am a fairly solid mechanic but, I'm not too familiar with Goldwing engines. I bought a 1779 GL1000 about a year ago. It ran just fine & did not smoke. I decided to do a basic service on the bike and found Cylinder 1, 2 & 4 had 150 LB while cylinder # 3 had only 90 LB's. I suspected a gauge problem & since it did not smoke just went ahead and started riding it. About 100 miles later I decided to check the timing belts and adjust the valves. I did change both belts and adjusted the valves. Recently I got a compression tester that I felt comfortable with and checked the compression again. Now the pistons that had 150 LB's have 90 & the # 3 piston which had 90 is down to 30 Lb's. I took both heads off and found there was no ring ridge and all piston walls looked like they still had cross honeing marks however the # 3 head has a bent intake valve. Sorry for all the detail but now to a concern & question. It bugged me as to why three cylinder has 150 LB compression & now 90 & why # 3 went from 90 LB to 30 LB (obviously due to bent intake vale but??). While looking over everything and turning over the engine to #1 TDC several times (before I took the heads off), I noticed the sprocket on the #1 & #3 head had a hand scribed timeing mark on it that was not in the same spot as the arrow and case mark. I found that if I put the sprocket where the arrow and case mark was that the #1 valve (forgot which one) was part open. If I set the sprocket to the hand scribed marks the #1 piston is at TDC and both vales are closed. I took off the sprocket from the cam and I can see that it can only go on one way. In addition the TDC mark on the flywheel has the #1 piston