GL 1000 won't start

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Russell Anthes
Motorcycle: 1978 GL1000

GL 1000 won't start

Postby Russell Anthes » Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:01 pm

Greetings this is my first post to GW Docs. I've never had any problems with my 1978 GL1000. New gel battery. New electonic ignition. New starter. It was all good yesterday. Today I trailered 160 miles, unloaded and nothing. No idiot lights. I jumped started off my truck and the bike started right up. Voltage meter is low for first time. Fuses under the tank lid are good and I replaced all anyway. Have never been able to find the main fuse mentioned in the manual. Supposed to be by the battery. I'm not good at electricity. Can anyone help with an idea what's causing the problem.

Placerville
Motorcycle: 1976 Naked Yellow

Re: GL 1000 won't start

Postby Placerville » Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:01 pm

Russell Anthes wrote:Greetings this is my first post to GW Docs. I've never had any problems with my 1978 GL1000. New gel battery. New electonic ignition. New starter. It was all good yesterday. Today I trailered 160 miles, unloaded and nothing. No idiot lights. I jumped started off my truck and the bike started right up. Voltage meter is low for first time. Fuses under the tank lid are good and I replaced all anyway. Have never been able to find the main fuse mentioned in the manual. Supposed to be by the battery. I'm not good at electricity. Can anyone help with an idea what's causing the problem.