no clutch

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
ajratt01
Motorcycle: 1976 gl 1000

no clutch

Postby ajratt01 » Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:16 am

hi i'm sort of putting the cart in front of the horse here but oh well. recently my wife and i were on a ride and when i pulled into our driveway and pulled in the clutch there was a snap and then no clutch action. i thought at first the cable had just broken because it is a 76 wing and due to age and such. after looking into it further it seems the cable is intact into the housing however i cannot pull the cable out of the tube going into the housing on the trans. i'm an auto tech by trade but am a little nervous working on my bike. so my question is, are there any normal breaks in this area i can look for and more importantly is this something a normal wing guy can look into? i'm a good mechanic but this is out of my experience level and there are always tricks that you have to learn. i love the old girl and have alot of other work to do to it and want to do it all myself. any help or advice would deff help out.

HawkeyeGL1200
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate
1981 GL1100 Interstate

Re: no clutch

Postby HawkeyeGL1200 » Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:53 am

I do not have a service manual for a GL1000. I found this online http://www.gl1000.info/Documents/Honda_ ... Manual.pdf

It looks like you have to remove the "Lifter Cover" from the rear of the engine to access the clutch cable. I've never changed the cable on a GL1000... sorry... but if you need a manual, that link above looks like it is a decent one from what I see.
I am wrong as often as I am right concerning what is wrong with someone else' motorcycle without having seen the machine in person. Guessing with limited information, as to the source of the trouble, is sketchy at best.

sfruechte
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000

Postby sfruechte » Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:13 pm