Solar Powered Battery Tender

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Kintan
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000

Postby Kintan » Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:15 am

Hey guys, I was thinking about installing a battery tender on my motorcycle. I wanted a solar powered one that I could mount on the back fender or near the back brake light. Has anyone done this or have any experience doing this? I just didn't know what kind I would need as I have never used one before. Thanks for the advice!

tfdeputydawg
Motorcycle: 06 Wing III/2010 Hannigan

Re: Solar Powered Battery Tender

Postby tfdeputydawg » Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:45 am

My feeble mind tells me when a bike is parked, usually in a garage, is when a battery maintainer is of use. Not much sun in a garage.
Just saying...........

Kintan
Motorcycle: 1977 GL1000

Postby Kintan » Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:52 am

I pull the bike out of the garage for a bit before starting it ;) Mainly cause it's squeezed in a corner so when I want to ride it I leave it in the driveway.

Placerville
Motorcycle: 1976 Naked Yellow

Postby Placerville » Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:44 am

For your intended use, it sounds impractical. A battery tender uses a small amount of current to keep a properly functioning battery fully charged over an indefinite period of time. In general, small, solar powered chargers aren't very effective. Do some research and you'll find a lot of poor reviews. Using a solar powered charger for a brief period of time before riding ("so when I want to ride it I leave it in the driveway") will do little to nothing for your battery. Additionally, its presence on your bike while riding won't be of any benefit as your stator is, or should be, doing it's job.