chopped

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
what_the?!
Motorcycle: 1975 gl1000

chopped

Postby what_the?! » Sun Sep 20, 2015 4:42 pm

Hi All,

this is a bit of a big first post i know. im hoping i can get some advice along the way.

ive been customising bikes now for a few years. i have been buying bikes with a view to alter their look, as i enjoy the uniqueness of something different.

one thing i havent done is a chop or mods where i alter a frame, or even rebuild an engine.

i bought a 1975 GL1000 as in my country, the legal requirements are tough on bikes post 88- regarding frame changes and other things.

i wanted to turn a bike into a boardtrack racer type stance- and because i really liked the brough superior, i looked for a frame that resembled it.

i looked at buying old harley frames etc, but the big twins arent cheap, and as i large guy, i couldnt see myself using a yamaha xs650 or similar.

the things that got me a bit stuck on the GL1000 were the shaft drive, and the tank and battery location, but i think ive got a way forward.

i have also been using blender 3d modeller to check lines and some fitment.

my plan is to rebuild the engine, carbs, transmission- remove the swing arm, convert to rigid, re-lace the wheels to be 21" front end rear, and add a springer front end,
low profile tank and make some full front and rear guards, and install a solo sprung seat.

the key is to set it up so that the guards and tank and seat are approximately at the same height.

i want to replace the radiator with something smaller- for front wheel clearance, and put in some low profile thermo fan.

ive got the engine out currently and ive watched some great videos on restoration but already have some questions- such as how to restore the block's appearance?

mine has bubbled peeling on it that looks like it was paint. im not sure if it is/was, or a metal treatment.