Starter not stopping-replace solenoids

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
Krussty76
Motorcycle: 1976 Gl1000

Starter not stopping-replace solenoids

Postby Krussty76 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:36 pm

This is my first post here and I'll start with a little bit of my background...
I'm a novice mechanic, I've always done my own motorcycle work but it has been some engine things and minor electrical work (stator replacement).

I found a 1976 GL1000 on craigslist for a decent price from a custom bike shop. The guy said this GL was the low man on the totem pole of projects. It was not running (but supposedly had been 3 months prior), but turned over and had all the parts. I thought it'd be a perfect start. The one issue the previous owner was able to show me was that when he put cables directly on the battery (because battery wouldn't hold a charge) to crank the bike normally, the starter motor could not turn the speed it should (maybe due to faulty wiring??).

So I got the bike and the starter motor was (or rather, I thought) fried. I bought a new one for 60 bucks along with a new battery and installed. Try to crank it and the starter did not stop spinning, I had to pull the lead off the battery, which scared the crap outta me!

Next I found the previous owner had chopped some wires of the right hand controls to fit a different model start button, so I found a dirt cheap used one on ebay and installed. My thoughts: a bad wire on the old one must've kept the switch opened. Tried again, same result. I'm starting to get really on edge every time I try to touch this bike. Pulling leads off batteries when the starter is cranking hard is scary.